When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesday’s with Dorie – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream August 12, 2008

Filed under: Ice Cream,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:30 am
Tags: , ,

This weeks TWD was chosen by Dolores of Chronicles in Culinary Curiosity and it is Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream located on page 434 of Baking: From My Home to Yours. If you go to Dolores’s site you can see the full recipe.

At first when I saw that we were making ice cream I thought that I was going to have to pass on this recipe and make one from the archive, but a miracle happened. My parents were actually driving up to visit, so I called my mom and asked her to bring up my ice cream maker. I have probably had this thing for 10 years, and the last time I used it was over 8 years ago. The core has been chilling in the freezer back home probably for 8 years without being touched. This was the perfect time to see if it worked…

IT DOES!!!

I guess what was more of a miracle is that I had all of the ingredients to make this recipe in my refrigerator and freezer. I was so excited that as soon as I got the ice cream maker and froze the core for 24 hours I made the ice cream. When I started to put the ingredients together I realized that I was short 1/4 cup of sour cream, so I decided to add 1/4 cup of plain non-fat yogurt that I had on hand. It worked out perfectly. The ice cream actually churned up in about 15 minutes, and then I placed it in the freezer to finish hardening. The blueberry sour cream/yogurt ice cream looks fantastic and tastes good too. It has a nice fresh blueberry flavor with a light sweetness and yogurt flavor in the background. Next time I need to puree the blueberries a little more because they were a little chunky. I definitely would recommend this for anyone to try.

 

15 Responses to “Tuesday’s with Dorie – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream”

  1. Jules Says:

    I’m glad yours worked out so well. Mine was too sour. Ah well.

  2. Marie Says:

    Erin, your ice cream looks fabulous! What a beautiful colour it is!!! Well done!

  3. Melissa Says:

    I think yours looks lovely with the blueberry chunks. I’m glad your ice cream maker worked for you!

  4. Peggy Says:

    Looks great – glad you got your ice cream maker back.

  5. hornedfroggy Says:

    Mine was a little on the sour side, too… okay, actually, a lot on the sour side. :) I want to try it w/ different berries and less sour cream next time – I think that would be heaven!

  6. Lori Says:

    Your ice cream looks wonderful! Creamier than mine, for sure.

  7. Michelle Says:

    I all most passed on this one too. But ..Im glad I didn’t . Your ice cream looks scrumptious!

  8. Jessica Says:

    What a wonderful surprise getting the machine back!

    Your ice cream looks great.

  9. Dolores Says:

    I’m so glad you were able to pull your ice cream maker out of long term storage and join us, AND that you enjoyed the recipe too.

  10. Di Says:

    My ice cream maker sits in the freezer for months on end (occasionally years?), but then I go on an ice cream kick and it gets a lot of use for a while. Hopefully yours will get more of a workout now. =)

  11. Shandy Says:

    What a great idea by adding the yogurt! Your ice cream is such a beautiful color and your ice cream maker works great! It isn’t to often that we get to make something where we have all the ingredients already. Love your pictures too =D

  12. mari Says:

    Ever since I bought The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz, I’ve become even more of an ice cream fanatic; so I too leave my ice cream canister in the freezer, so it’s always ready to make ice cream…hahaha!

  13. Teanna Says:

    I’m so glad you were able to get an ice cream maker that worked! It looks gorgeous! And great addition of the yogurt!

  14. pamela Says:

    Could you ask for better timing? Everything happens for a reason, and this was definitely a yummy reason.

  15. nancy/noe Says:

    Your ice cream is absolutely beautiful. I’ve been thinking that when I make this (I baked a rewind this week) I will use part yogurt. I’m glad you liked the taste.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 515 other followers