When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Blue Macarons September 11, 2008

I have been trying to figure out a way to use the rest of the Chocolate Glaze from the Daring Bakers’ Eclair Challenge and the left over egg whites that I accumulated from making two pastry creams, and I figured it out.

MACARONS.

This would also allow me to use my left over coffee buttercream and chocolate ganache and make blue opera macarons too.

I was inspired by Tartlette’s macarons that she made back in March. I just loved the color that she used. I decided that I would try my hand at dying my macarons this time around, but not do the little design she did. The recipe said to use 2 tbsp, but I figured that since my color was a little darker I would use only 1 tbsp. They are still a darker blue, but I didn’t care too much :) The fun part of sharing these with your friends is watching their mouth’s turn blue.

I was very happy with the result. All of the macarons were very tasty. I just need to figure out how to get the macarons to not be so flat, but I did get little feet again :)

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 497 other followers