When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #16 and VeganMofo October 1, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 12:06 pm
Tags: , , ,

October had begun and in the vegan world of the Post Punk Kitchen it is VeganMofo, which stands for Vegan Month of Food.  I figured that since I have been doing my Vegan Adventure that I could just tag VeganMofo along with it.  The way VeganMofo works is a bunch of bloggers, vegan or non-vegan, have agreed to post at least 20 posts in the month of October.  These entries can range from food all the way to clothing.  I think I will just stick to food.

If you are a regular reader you know that I am not vegan, I am an omnivore (omni).  I have taken up this VeganMofo challenge along with my Vegan Adventure to experiment with food and see how the vegan world does it.   Of course you know that I am going to start of this month and probably a few other posts with some cupcakes.  I haven’t completely planned everythign that I am going to be making, but I know I am going to throw in some savory dishes too because there is no way that I can eat cupcakes for the rest of the month.  Even if they are tasty :)

I will begin the month of October with Lemon Gem Cupcakes from Vegan With A Vengeance. These cupcakes were very good.  They had a nice sweetness to them and all the lemon flavor that you could want.  I actually made some modifications to the recipe because I was low on some of the ingredients.  For the cupcakes I only used the juice from one lemon, which didn’t quite reach 1/4 cup.  Also, the recipe says that the cupcakes don’t peek over the wrapper, but mine did and I didn’t even use all of the batter.  I am thinking that the recipe probably makes about 14-15 cupcakes using all of the batter and that you should only fill the liners half way.  The cupcakes did turn out good, but when you are anal like me and you want them to look like the picture and not like regular cupcakes.

For the frosting I only used the juice from half a lemon and probably 2 tbsp of rice milk; the rest of the recipe I kept the same.  I was afraid that the recipe for the icing would make it not thick enough and since my cupcakes rose above the muffin papers I didn’t want the icing to fall off.

Lemon Gem Cupcakes

Source: Vegan with a Vegeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup canola oil

2/3 cup plus 2 tbsp sugar

1 cup rice milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 tbsp lemon zest

Preheat oven to 350°F.  LIne a twelve-muffin tin with papper liners.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a separate bowl combine the oil, sugar, rice milk, vanilla, lemon juice, and lemon zest.  Pour the dry ingredeints into the wet and mix u ntil smooth.  Fill each muffine cup a bout two-thirds full; bake for 17 to 20 minutes.  Remove the cupcakes from the muffin tin and place on a cooling rack.  Frost when cooled fully.

Lemon Frosting

Source: Vegan with a Vegeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

1/4 cup non-hydrogenated soy margarine, softened

1/4 cup soy milk

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Whisk the margarine with a fork until fluffy.  Stir in the soy milk and lemon juice; add the confectioners’ sugar and mix until smooth.  It may take 5 minutes or so to get it to be the right consistency unless you employ an electric hand held mixer.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

 

One Response to “Vegan Adventure #16 and VeganMofo”

  1. bex Says:

    I love those cupcakes. I love all Isa’s cupcakes (wait that didn’t sound right).

    It looks like you are doing great with your vegan adventure. Usually baking is what people are most afraid of when they try vegan, they just assume it’s going to be hard or weird.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers