When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Pumpkin Muffins October 21, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Muffins,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags:

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Kelly of Sounding My Barbaric Gulp.  She chose Dorie’s Pumpkin Muffins which is located on page 13 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I actually ended up making this recipe 2 weeks ago with the left over pumpkin that I had from making the Pumpkin-Spice Doughnuts.  I didn’t want the pumpkin to go bad and I woke up on Monday morning 2 weeks ago just craving pumpkin muffins.  So I went to work that morning and made a batch.

For these muffins I decided that I would make them in my giant muffin pan because who does like a HUGE muffin and my regular muffin pan was dirty because I have been making A LOT of cupcakes lately.  I made a few modifications to the recipe to match my tastes.  I modified the following: used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice, omitted the sunflower seeds, and opted to use pecans.

The flavor of the muffins was fantastic and was exactly what I was craving that Monday morning.  When ever I would get a pecan it would remind me of pecan pie.  So I would say that these muffins have the flavor of pumpkin and pecan pie without being too sweet.  I ate the muffin straight out of the oven and it was fantastic.  I would recommend warming these up before you bite into them.  You will not be disappointed :)

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Pumpkin Muffins”

  1. Lori Says:

    i love these with pecans too!

  2. Jules Says:

    Those look yummy! If only I liked pumpkin….

  3. Karen Says:

    Those look delicious! :) Good job!

  4. Caitlin Says:

    Pumpkin and pecan pie together – a perfect combo. And giant muffins were probably the perfect portion size too :)

  5. Barbara Says:

    These look great!

  6. Di Says:

    I may have to try these again with the pecans. I left them out because my kiddos wouldn’t eat them. I agree, these were definitely best warm (though not bad cold).


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers