When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Perfect Party Cake June 30, 2009

tuesdays-with-dorie-logoThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Carol of mix, mix… stir, stir.  She chose Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake which is located on pages 250-252 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. I made this recipe almost a year ago for my Nanny and PaPa’s Anniversary.  I have also used the base recipe of the cake to make other cakes, like my lemon cake with raspberry buttercream, fresh raspberries, and lemon cream.  I love this cake.  The cake recipe is perfect for anyone that wants a lemon cake.  It has a nice tight tender crumb.

100_2180The first time I made the cake, I had a problem with rising.  That is because I forgot everything that I was taught in school.  Baking powder is not the only thing that helps a cake a leaven: sifting dry ingredients and creaming the butter in this recipe also aid in the leavening process.  So just remember to following the directions exactly.  The buttercream for the recipe is also great.  It is a Swiss meringue based buttercream, which is simpler to make then the Italian Buttercream that I usually make however it is not as stable.

This time around I decided not to use coconut because a few of my friends aren’t fans :( I did use some extra lemon zest because I love lemon, and I also made candied lemon peels with the leftover lemons that had to be juiced for the buttercream.  I decided to decorate the cake with fresh raspberries instead.  I also halved the recipe this time because we know I don’t need a full cake laying around my apartment.  I ended up using a full recipe of the buttercream.  I think I had about 1 cup left and didn’t end up saving it because I currently have Peppermint Buttercream and Chocolate Buttercrea100_2186m in my freezer :)

As usual the cake turned out fantastic.  I didn’t have a pretty flower to pair the cake with this time, but the layers turned out a lot better.  I shared a slice of this cake with my friend Runner.  She loved it, but she is a big fan of anything lemon :)  The rest of the cake went over to the comic bookshop with the Bakewell Tart.  I haven’t heard anything back from Roclar, so I just assume everyone liked it.

Oh, I took the left over fresh raspberries and I mixed them with a few sliced strawberries and topped it off with a couple candied lemon peels and it was a fantastic light dessert.  I wish I would have taken pictures of it because it looked so pretty :)

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Perfect Party Cake”

  1. Jules Says:

    Mmmmmm. This looks amazing! My son wants to eat it. Now.

  2. uclala Says:

    That is a Gorgeous Perfect Party Cake! Your layers came out Perfect!! I followed the recipe to a T and still did not have layers that rose much. I don’t mind so much since it tastes so fantastic! Everything about your cake is amazing!

  3. Amanda Says:

    ow that is just fabulous looking, I love how you decorated the top with the fresh berries! I am in love with this cake, I was thinking of proposing marriage… ;)

  4. Jodie Says:

    GORGEOUS! How did you get your buttercream so smooth?

  5. isa Says:

    Looks wonderful! I love the way you decorated your cake!

  6. Wendy Says:

    Your cake looks perfect!! I love the way you decorated it. Great job!

  7. Wow, your layers came out perfectly…I must learn your technique!!! The jam in my layers created a mess. Still, I loved this cake.

  8. Your decorating job is lovely!

  9. What a beautiful cake! Thanks for baking with me this week and I am so glad you liked it.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers