When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart March 16, 2010

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Rachelle of Mommy? I’m Hungry!.  She chose Dorie’s Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart, which is located on page 354 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  This tart is essentially a thick chocolate ganache poured over raspberries in a tart shell.  So, of course, it is going to be spectacular.

For this recipe, I used straight up Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips.  I guess you could say it is house rules :)  Whenever I bake anything with chocolate, I  always use a dark chocolate because both Mike and I prefer it to milk chocolate.  I might add that it was a wonderful choice because it matched the raspberries so well.

As luck would have it, Mike and I were attending a Potluck this weekend and I knew that I had to take this.  1) Because it is chocolate and raspberries and needed to leave the house before I ate it all, and 2) a tart seems like something everyone would enjoy.  I baked this tart up the day before the potluck since I had to work that morning/afternoon.  The tart baked up perfect and only took 35 minutes.  I noticed a lot of members had some issues with cooking times, but I had no problem what so ever.  Once the tart was cooled, I placed it in the refrigerator.  I did this because I knew I wanted to decorated it with whipped cream and raspberries after work and I didn’t want it sitting out on the counter for 12 hours.  That kind of thing messes with me, especially since I have worked in the food industry for 10 years, cooking/baking or serving, and am food safety certified for probably the same amount of time.

After I got home from work, I whipped up some stabilized whipped cream and decorated the tart.  Initially I was going to cover the entire thing in whipped cream, but realized that it would be a good idea to just do a design since I was pre-cutting.  This would show everyone that it was already sliced in individual portions, and they wouldn’t have to bother with trying to slice it.

I thought the tart was fantastic, and I guess everyone did too because I was getting the two thumbs up from people who had their mouths full of tart :)

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart”

  1. Beth Says:

    Your tart is lovely! I love the simple design with the whipped cream – I’m sure it was tasty!

  2. nickki Says:

    I just love your presentation! Just beautiful. I wish I added a little whipped cream to my tart now, maybe I will next time I make it :-)

  3. pamela Says:

    It looks really nice with the whipped cream on top!

  4. cstewarts Says:

    Your tart looks so beautiful!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers