When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: White Chocolate Brownies June 1, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 2:05 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Marthe of Culinary Delights.  She selected Dorie’s White Chocolate Brownies which are located on pages 110-111 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

This would probably been one of the many things in the book that I look at the picture and go, “Pretty, I really want to make that.” But then I really never got around to it, so luck me that Marthe picked it this week 🙂

Okay first thing first, I know pretty much everyone was having issues with the brownies not baking all the way through.  At first when I starting making these, I was going to bake the batter for a bit and then add the meringue.  But as I continued to put the batter together I went through 2 more stages of thought, 1) I won’t do the meringue, and 2) Well, I have enough eggs lets see how this goes with the meringue and bake according to the directions.  I ended up going with number 2, obviously, and these little guys actually turned out right.  The only reason that I can come up with is that I used a 9 X 13 rectangular springform pan.  I have discovered that when I bake things in the 9 x 13 Pyrex dish and the 9 x 13 springform pan, that they bake differently.  I think that happens for two reasons, 1) Both pans are made from different materials, and 2) I find that the batter settles more evenly in the springform pan because the edges don’t round up, they are flat.

With regard for the batter, I did use blackberries instead of raspberries because I couldn’t find any for the life of me.  As for the baking time, I baked this for 40 minutes and then I let it rest until it was at room temperature before I removed the outside of the pan.  After it was cool, I lifted it off the bottom of the pan with the parchment paper and then gently sliced (serrated knife)  it into 40 pieces.

The flavor and texture of these brownies reminded me more of a moist cake, and Mike was hoping for them to be a little sweeter.  But other than that, I thought they were yummy and snagged two for myself when no one was looking 🙂