When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Tender Shortcakes June 8, 2010

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Cathy of The Tortefeasor.  She chose Dorie’s Tender Shortcakes which are located on pages 423-424 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I am a sucker for shortcakes.  Growing up we use to making strawberry shortcake with those sponge cake things that had a dent in the top.  We would load it up with strawberries that had been macerated in sugar, vanilla ice cream, and cool whip. Ummm, yummy.

Now, Mike on the other hand grew up with shortcakes made out of Bisquick with strawberries macerated in sugar and cool whip.  I use to always ask him why he never put vanilla ice cream on it too, but I guess he never thought of it.

Cut to the present with me “trying” to be healthy and doing P90X.  I can’t exactly put ice cream on the shortcakes, so I guess that is a no go.  If the berries are perfectly ripe we really don’t need to macerate them in sugar, and whipped cream out of the question (mostly because I don’t have any heavy cream in the house currently).

Okay, now what about the recipe, I don’t have heavy cream on hand but I do have buttermilk and the there is this huge bag of 100% Whole Wheat Flour in the pantry.  :LIGHT BULB:

1) I made half a recipe

2) I used 1/2 Whole Wheat Flour and 1/2 All-Purpose Flour.

3) I substituted 1/2 of the sugar for brown sugar

4) I substituted buttermilk for the heavy cream and then added 1/2 tsp of baking soda

Everything came together nicely and baked up perfectly.  I have yet to taste the shortcakes since I was about to do Plyometrics and you really don’t want to eat anything for at least an hour before you do that workout :)  So, I will post the tasting results after I have finished playing in my vegetable garden.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Tender Shortcakes”

  1. Amber Marie Says:

    Hope they were good! I used 1% milk instead of cream and it was great. Hope plyometrcs went well – its a toughy! :)

  2. nice changes. i bet the br. sugar added a great dimension to these.

  3. Cathy Says:

    They look great – love your changes! I ran an extra few miles to compensate for my full-on heavy cream, sugared up shortcakes. I hope you enjoy these!! Thank you so much for baking with me this week!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 529 other followers