When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

French Fridays With Dorie: Gougeres October 1, 2010

Filed under: Appetizer,Baking,French Fridays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 8:48 pm
Tags: , ,

Today is the first day of French Fridays With Dorie (FFwd) and Dorie picked the recipe!!!  The recipe comes from Dorie’s new cookbook that is out, Around My French Table.

She picked Gougeres, which are essentially a savory cream puff with cheese added to the dough.  Dorie suggests either Cheddar or Gruyere cheese, and I made Mike pick.  He decided on Gruyere, so I picked up a pre-shredded mix of Swiss and Gruyere Cheese.  I only made 1/3 of a recipe because we sure didn’t need 36 puffs of deliciousness in the house.

I procrastinated because I lost track of what day it was in the week, so we had these little puffs for dinner, and they were FANTASTIC.  I actually couldn’t get enough of them, so it was a good thing that I didn’t make a full recipe.  I would walk by the sheet pan and grab one off.  The little bit of crusty cheese on the bottom of each puff was the best part.  They tasted the best straight out of the oven.

 

5 Responses to “French Fridays With Dorie: Gougeres”

  1. Candy Says:

    I agree – these were completely addictive!

  2. Pamela Says:

    They look fabulous! I was really surprised at how easy they were and so tasty!

  3. After eating all of mine I wish I froze some. Why didn’t I even think to do that? lol. Yours are beautiful!

    • lola Says:

      Yes, they are addictive. I am glad we were going out to dinner at a friend’s home, so I could take them. Then they gobbled them down. Yours are beautiful!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers