When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Caramel Pumpkin Pie October 19, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Pie,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:30 pm
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Janell of Mortensen Family Memoirs. She picked Dorie’s Caramel Pumpkin Pie which is located on pages 322-323 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Okay, I am really running under the wire tonight so I am going to keep this short and sweet and amend it once I have a bit of this yummy pie.

I just pulled this baby out of the oven and the house smell fantastic.  It has hints of a butter crust and spiciness in the air.  I am sure I am going to love falling asleep with these smells in the house.

Tomorrow is my first day off in 6 days and unfortunately I am going to be driving 2 hours to go pay my respects to a college friend who recently passed away.  So, I am not sure when this post will get amended but it will happen in the next 2 days for sure.

*UPDATE*

After a day of driving in the rain for 4 hours, seeing old friends, saying goodbye to one, and then spending the rest of the night outside in the cold/rain at a seafood festival while God cried in my Beer and Coffee; I am glad to wake up to the sun shining and a piece of Caramel Pumpkin Pie in front of me.

I actually had the crust turn out perfect this time, it didn’t even shrink on me…YAY!!!  The crust is buttery and flaky, and the filling to the pie is smooth and has a hint of rum lingering on the middle of my tongue.  It is the breakfast of champions :)  Now I am just wishing for a angel or fairy to bring me a cup of coffee and I will be set.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Caramel Pumpkin Pie”

  1. Pamela Says:

    Sorry about the loss of your friend. Here’s to the warm and spicey smells of that pie helping you off to dreamland.

  2. Janell Says:

    Sorry to hear about your friend.

    I’m glad you like the pie though, and your crust looks fabulous. Thanks for taking the time to bake along with me this week.

  3. Karen Says:

    So sorry to hear about your friend but I am glad you got o be there. Glad the pie turned out well! :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers