When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Rewind/Catch-up November 30, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Cookies,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:25 am

I have probably been the biggest procrastinator for the month of November.  The last time I posted almost a month ago.

What is up with that? I never do that.

I have an excuse I promise.  I recently came down with a stomach bug and have been exhausted and the last thing that I have wanted to do was get in the kitchen.  Well lets scratch that, I got in the kitchen and baked 3 of the TWD items on time.  But when it came to posting, I procrastinated.  So, I am finally posting/catching up on postings.

First up, Peanuttiest Blondies chosen by Nicole of Bakeologie.  These guys are located on page 119 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I loved these.  They reminded me of the bar form of a peanut butter- chocolate chip cookie.  We sadly went on vacation after I made these, so we didn’t get to finished them, but my in-laws enjoyed them.  They also couldn’t finished them before they got a little hard, but my mother-in-law came up with something great.  The crushed them up, stored them in the freezer, and use them as a topping for ice cream :)

Next up, the Not-Just-for Thanksgiving Cranberry Shortbread Cake chosen by Jessica of Singleton in the Kitchen. This recipe is located on pages 208-209 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I wasn’t sure about the cake at first, but I was a little confused.  Then when I started seeing people post pictures I realized it wasn’t really a cake as more of a GIANT cookie with cranberry filling.  With that I knew that I had to make it because I actually had a stash of cranberries in the freezer :)  I decided to make this in a 9- inch tart pan.  It fit perfectly and baked up beautifully.  The final product was great.  The shortbread was buttery and sweet and the cranberry filling had a nice tang to it.

Last but not least, yesterdays post, Devilish Shortcakes chose by Tania of Love Big, Bake Often.  This recipe is located on pages 425-426 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I knew I couldn’t back out of this recipe because I love Shortcakes and they are just so easy.  I got all my ingredients together and realized that I need to by more Cocoa powder, but I did have just enough for half a recipe.  The recipe came together great, and these large mounds of chocolate baked up beautifully.  Since I have a crap ton of frozen fruit in my freezer (for smoothies), I figured the strawberries would work great.  I defrosted a couple and tossed them in sugar, filled the shortcake and added a scoop of Cool Whip.  These were great, and they were yummy straight out of the oven with nothing on them :)

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Rewind/Catch-up”

  1. julessomeone Says:

    Yum! It all looks delicious!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers