When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Apple-Coconut Family Cake December 15, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:23 am
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Amber of Cobbler du Monde.  She picked Dorie’s Apple-Coconut Family Cake which is located on page 214 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Holy Crap!!! I am only a day late :)   I actually made this yesterday during the day and then Mike and I had it for dessert.  The construction of the whole dessert was very easy.  I was actually unable to find Golden Delicious Apples so I just used some Granny Smith Apple instead.  The surprising revelation about this cake is that Mike actually ate it :)  He has this whole coconut texture thing that I have explained many times before.  This time I actually used a different type of coconut.  I used unsweetened, finely shredding, dehydrated coconut.  So the texture is actually not as coarse :)

The cake was fantastic.  In the first bite you get a hint of rum, with a slight spice of cinnamon, and the crunch and sweetness from the apples just rounds out the flavor.

Now, to finish up yesterdays Daring Cooks’ Challenge, and start my annual Holiday Cookie Baking :)

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Apple-Coconut Family Cake”

  1. Karen Says:

    Your cake looks perfect! Glad you liked it! :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 523 other followers