When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Madeleines sans Fluff Filling January 11, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Margo of Effort to Deliciousness.  She picked Dorie’s Chocolate Fluff Filled Madeleine which is located on pages 170-171 in Baking: from My Home to Yours.

This month, since it is a new year, I am trying to get back on board with planning and baking my Tuesdays With Dorie recipes.  I was so close to making this on time, and then it fell through the cracks.  I was initially going to do the recipe as written, but then the idea of having Marshmallow Fluff leftover in the house struck me as a bad idea.   I thought that I could make hot chocolate with fluff on top to get rid of the leftovers, but then I realized my weird aversion to milk.  I want milk, but every time I drink it it make more saliva build up in my mouth which grosses me out.  I have come across this problem with a few things (most notably cold drinks)  since getting pregnant, which is annoying because I want to drink cold stuff so bad.

In the end I left out the filling, which was perfect because the recipe took less time and effort :)  The end product was a just a perfectly baked Chocolate Madeleine, soft in the inside with a nice chocolate flavor.  Like eating a small cake, perfect :)

 

2 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Madeleines sans Fluff Filling”

  1. Karen Says:

    These look great! The filling put such a tiny amount in the cakes it was probably worth it to leave it out. :)

  2. Margot Says:

    Cute little madeleines! I feel the same way about planning for TWD; even if I make the recipe slightly ahead of time, I almost always end up writing my post at the last minute. Thanks for baking with me!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 530 other followers