When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Bourbon Bread Pudding February 8, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:09 pm
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Sharon from Simply Southern.  She picked Dorie’s Bourbon Bread Pudding which is located on page 407 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I can’t state this enough, I love bread pudding.  Mike always seems to think it takes like French Toast which I guess it does since it is pretty much almost the same way we make French Toast.  But sometimes it matters what type of bread pudding you are having: does in have a bourbon sauce (yummy), is there a baked meringue on top (yummier), and both just make it super yummy.

Dorie’s recipe is just a simple base bread pudding recipe, which I changed up just a bit for my taste and according to what I had on hand.  I only made half a recipe, and I substituted Vanilla Bean Paste for the Vanilla Extract and the Almond Extract.  Since we didn’t have any bourbon in the house….what a shame, really…bourbon is yummy, I substituted Jack Daniels.  I used all non-fat milk instead of whole milk and heavy cream.  Finally, I added 1/2 cup of golden raisins soaked in Cointreau to the recipe, which makes it extra yummy :)

This turned out super fantastic.  I wish I would have made a bourbon sauce to go with it but since all the bourbon doesn’t burn off and I am currently sustaining life for myself and my symbiote, I decided that that might be a bad idea and opted for Vanilla Ice Cream (not pictured).

 

2 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Bourbon Bread Pudding”

  1. Flourchild Says:

    Yum, it looks great! I like that you cut the recipe in half! I should have done that being Im the only bread pudding lover in my house! I love vanilla paste too, good stuff!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers