When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Coffee Ice Cream Tart April 5, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Ice Cream,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Jessica of Domestic Deep Thought of the Day.  She picked Dorie’s Coffee Ice Cream Tart which is located on pages 358-359 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

My first thought when I saw this recipe was that I would finally get to use the heavy cream in my fridge, but then I realized that the recipe only called for premium store bought ice cream.  So, I decided to make my go to Vanilla Ice Cream via David Lebovitz and add 2 tbsp of Espresso Powder to the milk part of the recipe to make it coffee ice cream.

My other addition to the Vanilla Ice Cream recipe was 1 tbsp vodka (at the very end).  Mike had heard a trick about adding a little bit of vodka to homemade ice cream recipes to make them not harden up so much.  I had asked him how much to add since I can’t actually have alcohol due to the current symbiote occupying my body :) but he had no idea so I figured 1 tbsp would be okay for 1 qt of ice cream.  The ice cream actually turned out perfect, the only thing that I could have done without was Dorie’s addition of ground almonds to the ice cream.  It gave the ice cream a gritty mouth feel, since I was expecting that it didn’t bother me too much.

The end product was very easy to put together.  Since I was making my own ice cream I just added all the additions to the ice cream straight to the base before I put it in the ice cream maker.  It made for less dishes in the end :)  The ice cream tart was very good, and I loved the combination of coffee and almond flavors.  FYI when cutting this tart, it is best to use a big knife so that you can get through the crust.  It is a little tough to cut through when it is frozen.

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Coffee Ice Cream Tart”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Your tart is beautiful. I love the almonds around the edge. I ran out of time and didn’t get to make the recipe this week. Too bad, it looks like it was a big hit.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 497 other followers