When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Basic Marbled Loaf Cake May 3, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 9:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Carol from The Bake More.  She picked Dorie’s Basic Marbled Loaf Cake, which is located on pages 230-231 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  For this recipe Dorie gives a few different flavor combinations to try.  I decided to go with Chocolate and While Chocolate as my two flavors since I had a bag of white chocolate on hand and 6 oz of bittersweet chocolate that needed to be used.

Dorie’s recipe calls for using 4 oz white chocolate and 4 oz bittersweet chocolate, but since I already had 6 oz of bittersweet chocolate melted I just decided to up the chocolate factor.  The batter for the loaf cake was very easy to put together, and it actually baked up in the allotted 1 hr 30 minute time frame.  Which usually doesn’t happen for me, so I was pleasantly surprised.  It baked up perfectly, and sliced up very nicely.  I decided to reserve the two end pieces for myself and Mike took the rest to work.  The verdict, well the plate was clean so I figured it went over well.  Mike’s comment was that the cake was very moist, which I second.  The flavor combination of the two was nice together, but I preferred the chocolate sections :)

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Basic Marbled Loaf Cake”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I love the waterfall look of your swirl. I couldn’t taste the white chocolate at all.

  2. Very interesting marbling pattern, it looks like an impressionist painting. Thanks for baking with me this week. — Carol

  3. Jessica Says:

    I like the idea of upping the chocolate factor! It worked well for you – the cake looks swirly and delicious.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers