When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Maple Cornmeal Biscuits and Blueberry Oatmeal Scones May 24, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Scones,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:25 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I actually baked both of these ahead of time.  But with the whole pregnancy thing, trying to get the house in order and work, I just never got around to posting.

So here we go, last weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Lindsay from A Little Something… Sweet.  She picked Dorie’s Maple Cornmeal Biscuits which are located on page 24 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  At first I wasn’t going to make these because I had just used up the rest of my maple syrup for last months Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Maple Mousse.  Then I came across Jessica of My Baking Hearts entry, and she used Golden Syrup instead of maple syrup.  I thought that was a great idea and I just happened to have some Golden Syrup in my pantry.  Thank you Jessica for the idea :)

For the recipe I made the following changes:

1) Substituted Golden Syrup for Maple Syrup

2) Substituted the all-purpose flour for White Whole Wheat Flour

3) Used buttermilk instead of whole milk

This biscuits actually turned out really well, and they reminded me of a milder version of cornbread :)

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Patricia from Life With a Whisk.  She picked Dorie’s Oatmeal Nutmeg Scones which is located on page 30 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I have actually made this recipe before as a  Peach Oatmeal Scone, and again I wanted to mix it up so I made a Blueberry Oatmeal Scone.

I made the following changes to the recipe:

1) Substituted White Whole Wheat Flour for the All-purpose Flour (I guess you can say I am trying to be healthier)

2) Substituted Non-fat Milk for the buttermilk (I ended up running out)

3) Omitted the nutmeg and baking soda

4) Added 1/4 cup dried blueberries and 1/4 cup frozen blueberries

5) Added sugar on top of the scones to make them look pretty

The scones turned out great.  You really couldn’t tell that I used white whole wheat flour, and the dried and frozen blueberries gave the scones a great blueberry flavor without making it taste artificial.  The recipe was very easy to put together.  Especially since I decided to use a scoop to shape the scones instead of forming them into triangles.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Maple Cornmeal Biscuits and Blueberry Oatmeal Scones”

  1. So glad you had golden syrup to use! It was delicious, wasn’t it?

    Both treats look fabulous! :)

  2. Nicole Says:

    The blueberry scones look so good. We grew blueberries when I was a kid so I have a special fondness for them. I use golden syrup occasionally and that would be good in the biscuits. Honey would be good, too!

  3. teaandscones Says:

    These were pretty tasty, weren’t they. Nice sub with the whole wheat flour. And adding blueberries – perfect!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 515 other followers