When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Golden Brioche Loaves August 24, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Bread,Breakfast,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:39 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Margie of Tea and Scones.  She picked Dorie’s Golden Brioche Loaves, which are located on pages 48-50 in Baking:From My Home to Yours.

What is that you say?

I posted almost on time.  Yep :)

I had planned to make these this weekend, but time got away from me.  So Sunday night, I whipped up the dough and then realized 1) crap it has to sit in the fridge overnight and 2) it makes two loaves.  I decided then that I would make the loaf in the morning, and let it rise while Emma and I took a nap.  Then with the rest of the dough, I was going to make Dorie’s Golden Raisin Snails.

I divide the dough in half and set it in the pan to rise and it takes forever.  I realize this is because it has been in the fridge overnight, and it is going to take some time for the dough to get to room temperature.  So I let it be and hoped that it was eventually rise.  Which it did, but not as much as it should have.  Then I thought, huh, I guess my yeast might not be as ALIVE as I thought it was :)

The dough ended up sitting on the counter all day and rose very little.  I popped it in the oven and out came a beautiful, yet short Brioche Loaf.  I have to remember not to bake at night because then it makes me hungry, which I guess I didn’t remember Tuesday night because then I proceeded to bake the Raisin Snails.

I had a little set back with the Snails because I ran out of eggs, which is unheard of in our house.  But since I had just made Emma’s Baptism cake the weekend before, I ended up using a total of 16 eggs (8 egg whites for the cake and 8 egg whites for the frosting).  This is what happens when you decide to make Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake, and then realize that maybe one cake isn’t enough and that you want to make it into a 10-inch instead of a 9-inch cake.  Next time, one recipe would work well enough because it made a damn tall cake, which was very yummy :)

After the egg problem was addressed, I went about making the pastry cream and the rum flambéed raisins for the inside of the snails.  These actually came together pretty easily and I didn’t have any problems with the dough rising :)  The Golden Raisin Snails turned out fantastic.  Now I know what Dorie means by not being about to eat just one, every time I walked passed them when they were cooling I wanted to eat one.

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Golden Brioche Loaves”

  1. teaandscones Says:

    The loaf and the snails look fantastic.

    Thanks for baking with me this week.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers