When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Bittersweet Brownies and Alsatian Apple Tart November 16, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:37 am
Tags: ,

Wow, we are entering the finally stretch of Tuesdays with Dorie.  It is getting kind of bittersweet.  I am sad that it is ending and they I have been neglecting my blog, but I am also looking forward to the new chapter and what is going to come next.

This weeks recipes were chosen by Leslie of Lethally Delicious chose AND Jessica of Cookbook Habit.  They picked Dorie’s  Bittersweet Brownies on page 90  and the  Alsatian Apple Tart on page 314 (respectively) in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I think Mike was a little excited when he heard about brownies because he has been wanting some straight up fudge style brownies for awhile, and these fit the bill to the T :)  I baked the brownies Monday night and they came together quickly and cleanly in the one bowl or should I say pot method.

YAY!! no crazy amount of dishes to clean up.  I baked these in a 10 x 10 x 3 inch pan.  Since the recipe called for a larger pan these brownies took about 5-10 minutes more to bake.  Once they came to room temperature, I did my freezer trick.  I place the brownies in the freezer until they are almost firm, approximately 30 minutes.  I then use a hot knife to cut clean slices.  The recipes says this makes 32 brownies, which it probably does since the brownies are SO rich.  But I ended up cutting them a little larger so I only ended up with 16…opps :)

For the Alsatian Apple Tart, I took my sweet time making it today.  I usually don’t have much time during the day to bake anything too extensive since I am taking care of the baby.  So I did this in a few stages while she took naps and played on her play mat.  By 630pm the tart was completed and cool.  Too bad we were too full from dinner, and a couple of brownies to try the tart.  I know Dorie recommends eating the tart the day it is made because it gets soggy.  Since it is just for Mike and I, I am not going to worry about it too much :) It turned out very pretty, and made the house smell fantastic.  So I am looking forward to digging into it later.  This really isn’t going to help the weight loss, but I might have to make Mike make it disappear :)

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Bittersweet Brownies and Alsatian Apple Tart”

  1. two great desserts! i didn’t make the brownies but your look fab. thanks for the freezer tip…i can see how nicely they cut.

  2. Jessica Says:

    Everything looks fantastic! I do the brownie freezer trick too, but solely for the purpose of cooling them quickly so I can eat them faster. I ate most of my apple tart the next day, and thought it was great. Thanks for baking along with me!

  3. teaandscones Says:

    The brownies were really good weren’t they. And the tart has had such positive reviews I will have to make it. Love the cutouts on top!

  4. Jaime Says:

    great job! I think those are just about the most perfectly cut brownies I have seen – ever!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 497 other followers