When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets February 21, 2012

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is being hosted by Steph, Spike, Jaime and Jessica.  They picked the Chocolate Truffle Tartlets, which are located on pages 382-383 in Baking With Julia.

This recipe makes 6 individual tarts, and since Mike and I have worked our way through my birthday cake pie and a Black Tie Mousse Cake (which I will hopefully post about soon), I didn’t think it would be wise to make a full recipe.  So I decided to make half a recipe which incidentally makes 4 tarts.  I ate one, Mike ate one, one went to my father-in-law, and the last lonely tart is hanging out in the fridge with the last piece of Black Tie Mousse Cake :)

This recipe actually wasn’t very hard, it just took some time to make the crust and then chill, roll, chill, and bake.  So I did it in stages while Emma was taking a nap.  I decided not to put biscotti in mine because I really didn’t want the crunch.  I was completely satisfied with a creamy interior with random bits of chocolate.  I really enjoyed the one tart I had.  It was the perfect size and very rich in chocolately flavor.

Now I give you my last lonely tart, and the puppy that wishes he could have some.

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets”

  1. galettista Says:

    My puppy would not be so well behaved. Your tart looks delicious.

  2. tsimmisthyme Says:

    Your puppy shows amazing restraint; no one, neither man, nor beast in this house would have left that tart alone. In fact, I made three and left them on the counter to cool while I ran an errand; when I returned I found a small V-shaped piece cut out of one. My teenager had helped herself. Your tart looks thick and luscious. I will definitely try these again with smaller tart pans.

  3. Wendy Says:

    Oh, my puppy so wished he could have some too. Your tart looks great. :)

  4. Teresa Says:

    I agree – my dog would be right on top of it! We really enjoyed this dessert, too.

  5. Cher Says:

    Glad your puppy was so well restrained :-)

  6. Jessica Says:

    I’m impressed with your dog’s self-control! The tart looks great. Thanks for baking along with us this week.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers