When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Rugelach March 6, 2012

Filed under: Bread,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 6:34 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

20120306-173405.jpg

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was hosted by Jessica of My Baking Heart and Margaret of The Urban Hiker. They picked the recipe for Rugelach, which is located on pages 325-327 in Baking With Julia.

For the recipe it gives you the option of making your own levkar filling, either prune or apricot, or you can just buy one. Levkar is just another way of saying fruit butter, well that is essentially what it is. Since I happened to have some prunes and apricots on hand because I have been making Emma’s baby food, I decided to make both levkars for the filling. To figure out which one I preferred I filled half of a recipe with each. The dried fruit for the filling was a mixture of dried apricots, golden raisins, and figs with walnuts and almonds.

I took my time making these cookies and made it a 3-4 day project. The first day I made both Levkars, and put out my butter and cream cheese to soften overnight. Day two I made the dough and chilled it. Day three I rolled out and filled the dough, and then put it in the fridge overnight. Day four or maybe 5 :) I finally sliced and baked them. I decided to not roll them in the cinnamon sugar nut mixture because I didn’t want the hassel, the mess, and I had waited long enough to taste these cookies.

Funny thing happened, at first I was only going to make one levkar so I asked Mike what his preference was and he said prune. I secretly wanted the apricot but I didn’t say anything. Once the cookies were made and we each tried them, I preferred the prune filling and Mike preferred the apricot. I guess things work out that way :). Mike took the extra to work and most of the apricot cookies got eaten. I think that is because Mike told them the other was prune filled and hey were wary.

Oh well, more for me. I figured out that I preferred the prune filling because it brought the flavor of the cinnamon to the front of your taste buds. It was just one of those nice added bonuses when the flavors worked perfectly and accentuated another ingredient which happened to be a favorite of mine :)

 

8 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Rugelach”

  1. I thought about not rolling in the cinnamon sugar but wasn’t sure if that would goof them up. Yours look great.

  2. Kim Says:

    Your rugelach look beautiful! ;)

  3. They look absolutely lovely. All of the filling looks luscious.

  4. smarkies Says:

    wow! you were ambitious with doing both lekvars. your rugelach look great!

  5. In looking at everyone’s posts, the peeps who left off the cinnamon-sugar-nut topping were the prettiest. The topping made the cookies (including mine) look rustic and sort of, well, shaggy. They sure were good, though!

  6. I like the bare look of your rugelach. Who needs all that extra sugar anyway?

  7. Jen Says:

    your rugelach looks perfect! nice job :)

  8. Cher Says:

    I made both lekvars and I think everyone was surprised at how good the prune was (they expected good things from the apricot).
    I am sure breaking this up into a few days made this less stressful.
    Nice work!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 528 other followers