When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Gingerbread Baby Cakes December 4, 2012

20121204-155239.jpg

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie is being hosted by Karen of Karen’s Kitchen Stories. The recipe she is hosting is for Gingerbread Baby Cakes which is located on pages 247-248 in Baking With Julia.

When I first glanced at the recipe I was surprised by the addition of cocoa powder and espresso powder. For one I was actually out of the cocoa powder that I usually use, but since the recipe didn’t call for too much I decided to use Black Cocoa powder instead. I also halved the recipe because I didn’t have enough molasses for a full recipe. Essentially, I was trying to use items that I had on hand instead of having to go to the grocery store because of that I omitted the fresh ginger and decided to add 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon.

I baked these baby cakes in large cupcake pan for 25-30 minutes, and half of a recipe makes exactly 6 large cupcakes. Once the cakes came out of the oven, I let them cool and then proceeded to dig into one with a side of whipped cream. The addition of the whipped cream is a must because it cuts the spice and chocolate in the cake. The cakes actually have a good spice to them without the fresh ginger. I am glad that I did not add the fresh ginger because I think it would have had too much spice/heat from the ginger and black pepper.

 

2 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Gingerbread Baby Cakes”

  1. SandraM Says:

    The large muffins look great. I can picture them out of the paper and turned upside down on a plate with whipped cream. I think not adding the fresh ginger was a good idea. The flavour of these cakes was very strong…way to strong for me.

  2. [...] baby cakes, as well as the Gingerbread Baby Cakes (page 247), Hazelnut Baby Loaves (page 249), Oven-Roasted Plum Cakes (page 255), Vanilla Pound Cake [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers