When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Pizza with Onion Confit January 8, 2013

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Pizza,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 4:01 pm
Tags: , ,

20130108-150139.jpg

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie is being hosted by Paul of The Boy Can Bake. The recipe he is hosting is Pizza with Onion Confit located on page 159 in Baking With Julia.

I made this recipe last night for dinner and it turned out great. Because I had to wait for Mike to get home with a bottle of red wine, the dough was just on its second rise while I was cooking the onions. I decided not to cool the onion mixture because it would have taken too long and the pizza baked up perfectly fine. I decided to top it with slices of garlic-herb goat cheese and Romano cheese.

I was really surprised by the flavor of the pizza. The onions cooked in red wine had a nice flavor that was reminiscent of a great tomato sauce and the addition of the garlic-herb goat cheese gave it a nice tang. The two paired very well together and Mike actually really liked it. I only ended up making one pizza and freezing half of the dough for another day. Since I only decided to make one pizza, I only made half a recipe of the onion confit. I would definitely make this again and play around with different flavor combinations.

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Pizza with Onion Confit”

  1. This looks great, I like the idea of using a garlic and herb goats’ cheese…think I might try that!

  2. SandraM Says:

    It was a good pizza. The goat cheese was such a good compliment to the onions. And I think something I will add to pizza all the time now.

  3. Kate Says:

    This one is definitely on my list to make again and play around with. It’s so simple that it’s versatile… if that makes any sense!

  4. Cathleen Says:

    I agree this was a great recipe!

  5. Cher Says:

    Garlic herb goat cheese sounds like a great topping with the onions. Yum!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers