When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Rustic Potato Loaves April 2, 2013

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Bread,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:17 am
Tags: , ,

20130402-102740.jpg

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is Rustic Potato Loaves, which is located on page 138 in Baking With Julia. This recipe is being hosted by Dawn of Simply Sweet. Head on over to her blog to get a look at her results and the recipe.

I actually loved this recipe because the rising time was so quick that you had fresh, delicious bread in no time. For the potatoes, I cooked two russets with skins and then put them through a food mill to remove the skins. I also figured this would mashed the potatoes better than just putting them in the mixer with the paddle attachment. Granted I did use more dishes, but I don’t get to play with the food mill very often. I was very surprised how easy this recipe was. My loaves didn’t turn out like footballs, but I didn’t mind that because they are “Rustic” and turned out very nice. Instead of spraying the oven with water to create steam I just throw a couple of ice cubes into the bottom of the oven and that seems to work perfectly fine.

We ate half of one loaf during dinner, Emma really liked the bread. The other half of the loaf we have been using to make sandwiches, which it makes great bread for. The other full loaf I brought over to my in-laws for Easter Dinner. This is a recipe that I will definitely make again.

20130402-102752.jpg

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Rustic Potato Loaves”

  1. SandraM Says:

    This really was a good recipe and I agree very quick. I wouldn’t hesitate to make this on the spur of the moment. Unlike those croissants!! :)
    Your loaves look great.

  2. Cathleen Says:

    This was a good bread. Personally I think ice cubes would work better. Most of the steam escaped by the time I closed the oven door after spraying. Your loaf looks perfect.

  3. Teresa Says:

    Next time, I’ll use ice cubes, too. I loved how quickly these came together.

  4. I used ice cubes and it worked well. Good job!

  5. teaandscones Says:

    It was a good bread, wasn’t it. Good idea with the ice cubes. Have to try that. I always feel like I lose 1/2 of the steam before I close the oven door.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers