When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Madeleines April 16, 2013

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 4:23 pm
Tags: , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie is being hosted by Katie and Amy of Counter Dog. Their recipe is Madeleines, which is located on page 334 of Baking With Julia. The recipe is actually a Ladyfinger Genoise that is then piped into a Madeleine mold.

The flavor of the recipe is just a basic vanilla, but I decided to flavor these with lemon since I had one on hand, and playing with lemon zest and sugar (rubbing them together) just makes me feel good. The recipe says that it makes 24 Madeleines, but I ended up with 18 (which is perfectly fine). The cookies turned out very well. I know a lot of bakers said their cookies were dry compared to other recipes they have made. Which I could understand, but if you have made a genoise cake or anything you know that they are dry. Also, madeleines are best eaten the day they are made or just do what I do and dip them in your tea, which makes the dryness moot :)

While I was eating a Madeleine, Emma came up and wanted to try it. I know she loves lemons and any citrus. She proceeded to eat the rest of the cookie and was trying to hide it from me because she didn’t want to share with Mike or I. It was actually pretty cute watching her eat it because she would suck on it like a lemon slice and then take a bite.

I probably would not use this recipe as my go to for Madeleines, but I think it would make great ladyfingers. So I will more than likely make these again just in ladyfinger form for Tiramisu.

20130416-162112.jpg

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Madeleines”

  1. Cathleen Says:

    Your tea cakes look great. I added citrus zest and juice, so I had no problem with them being dry. Not one I will be making again though.

  2. teaandscones Says:

    Wish I had thought to add citrus. These were pretty but rather plain.

  3. Teresa Says:

    That’s a great story about your daughter! I’d definitely consider flavouring these next time (and use them for ladyfingers, rather than madeleines).


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers