When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Double Chocolate Cookies November 19, 2013

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:50 pm
Tags: , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie recipe comes from page 329 in Baking With Julia and is Rick Katz’s Double Chocolate Cookies. These cookies are more like a brownie. They are the best parts of a brownie: crunchy edge and fudgy center. The key to this recipe is to not bake them too much. My oven has actually been running on the cool side so these took a little longer than the 10-12 minutes the recipe suggested. I find these are best when they are still slightly warm because the chocolate chips are still soft.

I had to change a few things in the recipe because of a mishap with some instant espresso powder. By mishap, I mean my powder solidified because of the conditions in my pantry, i.e. someone left the light on which the powder sits next to and I think humidity had a factor too. If I would have used it, I would have only used half the amount because the recipe actually calls for instant coffee which is milder. I did add some Irish Creme flavoring just for the heck of it and it worked perfectly.

These are what comforted me and feed my cold today :)

20131119-214428.jpg

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Double Chocolate Cookies”

  1. Cathleen Says:

    Mmm, Irish cream. It’s raining here today – Irish coffee would be really good right about now. This must have made for a very tasty cookie. Your cookies look perfect. Hope you feel better soon! (I keep my instant espresso in the freezer.)

  2. saucygander Says:

    Oooh Irish cream sounds like the perfect addition! Love how your cookies turned out.

  3. Ckay Says:

    Wow, sometimes “mishappens” bring new ideas… Double chocolate Irish Cream Cookies: I love the sound of that!

  4. SandraM Says:

    And here’s why I continue to love baking with this group…such good idea! Irish cream would be amazing in these!!! Great idea!

  5. Cher Says:

    Hope you’re feeling better :-)
    I liked how these were more brownie than cookie.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers