When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Challah December 3, 2013

Filed under: Baking,Baking With Julia,Bread,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:26 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie recipe is Challah bread, which is located on page 93 in Baking With Julia.

Does anyone else want to yell CHALLAH like Holla when they see the bread or the word. I, or course, am either yelling it out loud or in my head. I yell it at home, in public I say it in my head or whisper it. I guess I am just weird that way.

This recipe worked out really well. I used my mixer for the most part, but then I was convinced the motor was about to go out so I finished the kneading by hand. Since I started making the bread pretty late at night and didn’t notice the 3 different rises it has to go through, I made a small adjustment. After the first rise, I punched it down and then covered the dough and placed it in the fridge for the second rise. Which of course it doubled it size perfectly, so when I woke up in the morning I let it come almost to room temperature. Hindsight, I should have let it completely come to room temperature, so the last rise took a bit long to double in size. Which was fine because I was taking care of the girls.

The bread actually turned out great, and I am looking forward to some French Toast and/or Bread Pudding later this week.

20131203-212545.jpg

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Challah”

  1. you are not alone, i too wanted to yell “holla” but thought it might seem a little weird, my husband probably wouldn’t get it, the girls would roll their eyes and groan and so on. your bread turned out picture perfect!

  2. saucygander Says:

    Those loaves look magnificent! I ended up making a non-dairy challah using another recipe but will make this in a catch up week!

  3. SandraM Says:

    Bahaha! I totally wrote Holla for some Challah on my facebook page when I sent out my post for this! So glad it wasn’t just me thinking that. :) Great looking bread! I was too afraid to use my kitchenaid for this, as I was sure I’d kill it.

  4. Cathleen Says:

    Such pretty loaves! Can’t wait to make this myself.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers