When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Mascarpone Cheesecake February 18, 2014

20140218-112529.jpg

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie recipe is the Chocolate Mascarpone Cheesecake, which is located on pages 256-258 in Baking With Julia. Of course I made this recipe for Valentine’s Day because, really, who doesn’t want a creamy piece of chocolate cheesecake on their Birthday.

Oh, did I mention that it also happens to be my Birthday.

Yep, unfortunately for me it does. But I imagine that having your birthday on Christmas is probably worse. I guess for me it goes back to those angsty teenage years where you see all the girls getting flowers/balloons in high school and you don’t get anything. But then again, my husband was my first Valentine, and that was in college. So, I guess I got the better end of the deal. Especially, since he insists that we don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day, we celebrate my birthday. Which I am fine with, but I still get him something anyways.

Back to the Cheesecake.

This was probably one of the easiest cheesecakes that I have ever made. The key was to have all cold ingredients at room temperature, and to mix everything on low speed so as not to incorporate too much air. You bake the cake in a buttered 8-inch Cheesecake Pan with 3 inch sides. I actually just used an 8 x 3-inch cake pan because I figured they were the same thing because usually if they want you to use a springform pan then it is specifically stated. Also, since this was baked in a water bath (bain marie) it makes it harder to use a springform pan without water getting in. You bake the cheesecake until it is just set and jiggles like pudding then you cool it to room temperature. Then you turn it out, sprinkle the bottom with cookie crumbs, flip it back over, and refrigerate for a few hours. I was actually very surprise how easily the cheesecake came out of the pan.

Once the cake had been refrigerated for the appropriate time, I used a hot knife to slice it. The cake came out great. The inside was perfectly creamy. I was impressed with the texture because it is hard to get the right texture with other recipes and not have the cheesecake crack on top. This recipe is definitely going to be my go to for Chocolate Cheesecake.

20140218-112542.jpg

 

11 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Mascarpone Cheesecake”

  1. Beautiful Valentine/birthday cheesecake!!!
    Indeed, what’s better than this decadent dessert!!!

  2. Happy Birthday…your cheesecake looks beautiful!

  3. Margaret Says:

    Hot knife? So THAT’s the trick! Beautiful slice!

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Yep, just run it under hot water, wipe off, make first slice, run under hot water to rinse off, wipe, slice, repeat :)

  4. wow–that’s so nice and tall. happy birthday to you!

  5. Beautiful cheesecake! I didn’t flip mine…I was afraid it would crack! Happy Birthday!!

  6. Cathleen Says:

    Happy belated birthday! What a delightful cake to make for yourself. ;) Your side look so perfectly smooth and the inside looks so nice a creamy. Nicely done. (I didn’t flip mine..)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers