When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Mocha Brownie Cake March 18, 2014

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie recipe is the Mocha Brownie Cake, which is located on pages 282-283 in Baking With Julia. This recipe is essentially a cake brownie that is filled and iced with a Chocolate Ganache. I decided to add a Saint Patrick’s Day twist to it and add Irish Cream flavoring to the cake and ganache. The idea was to serve it yesterday, but I started a little late in the day while running errands and running herd on 2 little ones.

So, yesterday, I baked and assembled the cake and this morning I reheated the ganache and iced the cake aka I poured the ganache over. Through the years I have become really good at pouring ganache over a cake.

How is that, you ask.

A few years back, I worked at a bakery and one of my jobs almost everyday was to pour chocolate ganache over our Chocolate Disaronno Cake and then decorate them. So, I actually got pretty good at it :)

20140318-221058.jpg

Finally, the children are in bed and I have been able to slice into the cake (with a hot knife, of course) and taste it. I found it to be very good and the Irish Cream flavor was perfect. I ate this straight out of the fridge and the cake was firm, but moist and the ganache was smooth and melted once it hit your mouth. I would definitely consider making this for a birthday cake for anyone that LOVES chocolate, but remember to use a good quality chocolate.

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Mocha Brownie Cake”

  1. I can tell you are an expert glazer…so smooth! and I also flavored mine with Irish cream, so I know yours was delicious, too. :)

  2. Your cake looks beautiful!! your expert hands give a perfect glaze, well done!!!
    I love the Irish cream idea for the ganache!!!
    It seems this recipe had a great sucess for all of us!!!

  3. Dawn Says:

    Quality ingredients = quality cake!

    Yours looks delicious!

  4. Sunita Says:

    Lovely ganache layer. I added Kahlua to mine and we are still drooling. Definitely a cake I would make for an occasion.

  5. Erin Says:

    Great idea to add Irish Cream. I’m glad you enjoyed the cake!

  6. Cathleen Says:

    Beautifully done!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers