When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Cantuccini April 29, 2014

This month I haven’t been posting very much but I did make the recipe for the week of April 15th, but as usual I just didn’t have time to post.  While I type this up, I am about to punch my computer in the face because the spacebar doesn’t want to work so I keep having to push it more than once.

Funny thing is I can hear it click every time I hit it but it doesn’t register the action.

ANNOYING!!!!!

Okay, back to Tuesdays With Dorie and Baking with Julia.  The recipe for the week of April 15th was for Cantuccini, which is essentially a biscotti made with almonds.  Which is located on pages 113-114 in Baking With Julia.  I love recipes that are simple, especially when I have all of the ingredients. Best thing about this recipe is that there is no added fat with regard to butter or oil. Great biscotti recipe for those days when you realize that you just ran out of butter.  Which surprisingly didn’t happen to me this time, but I was out of one important ingredient, ALMONDS. I usually have all types of different nuts hanging out in my freezer and I had almonds just not nearly enough.  However, I did have plenty of hazelnuts and just substituted them in for the almonds. I didn’t peel or toast them or anything, just straight up raw hazelnuts from the freezer.

This recipe was especially appreciated because of how quick everything came together.  Mike took Emma outside to play and I was able to mix the dough up, form the logs, and put them in the oven, in less than 20 minutes.  Which was ideal since I was also watching Maureen, 11 months old, crawl around the kitchen and living room.  She was actually really well behaved and didn’t try to play with the dog food or the dog’s water :) The biscotti turned out fantastic, slightly sweet with the perfect amount of crunch. They are especially good with coffee and just as good with tea.Image

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Cantuccini”

  1. Cathleen Says:

    They look fabulous! I’m sure they were quite tasty with the hazelnuts – one of my favorite. I too loved how easy this recipe was, and they tasted good too!

  2. Ckay Says:

    Your cantuccini are absolutely gorgeous!
    There was only one “negative aspect” of this recipe that I’ve found: I’ve become addicted to them ;-)
    I made Lefses: a time-consuming WINNER recipe! Yumm

  3. Cher Says:

    Sorry about your keyboard grief. Your cookies look delicious!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers