When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

I love kitchen gadgets July 7, 2008

Filed under: Kitchen Gadgets,Pizzelles — pastrybrush @ 11:24 pm

I can’t help it. Every time I see a new kitchen gadget or something that I am looking for I can’t help but buy it. The newest item on that list I found online at Fante’s Kitchenwares Shop. It is a pizzelle iron. Not the ones that you plug into the wall….oh no, not that…a stove top one.

:I scream like a little girl:

I have wanted one of these ever since my grandmother (from here on out referred to as Grandma) told me that that is how her mom used to make them. I called Grandma the other day to ask what kind of iron that my great grandmother had: metal or wooden handles. Of course the response was metal, and then she proceeded to ask me to buy her one too.

So now I have to decide. Do I want one with metal or wooden handles? The difficult part for me isn’t the handles. I have been looking at the design that each makes and it is different. I think the design for the metal handled iron is what I used to see when I was a kid and Grandma’s neighbor use to make us Anise Pizzelles.

So begins my internal debate.

Once I purchase the iron, I will post pictures and the adventure of making pizzelles with a stove top iron.

This is going to be interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

