When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Stack on the Pounds I Love Me Some Cake July 8, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Pound Cake,Reduced Fat — pastrybrush @ 8:59 pm
Tags: ,

Pound cake that is….

Okay, so I am on Weight Watchers. I am not fat or anything, but it wouldn’t hurt just to loose a few pounds so that I feel better about myself. Which gets me to this recipe that I found on WeightWatchers.com: Lemon-Raspberry Pound Cake…sounds good, doesn’t it.

I have had this recipe in my possession for probably a month now and have been wanting to make it, but I just never got around it. So one night I was looking through my Joy of Cooking cookbook (page 941) and noticed a recipe that I thought was familiar: Yogurt Cake (Reduced Fat). The measurements were exactly the same minus the lemon zest and raspberries of the WW recipe.

UNTIL…. I LOOKED CLOSER

The WW recipe only had 1 Tbsp of sugar. That has to be a mistake.

One Tbsp, you have to be kidding me.

I checked the Joy of Cooking recipe and it had one cup…that sounds more like it. I looked over the WW recipe more carefully and noticed that they reduced the sugar to cut calories out. But if you look at the recipe it serves 10, so increasing the sugar to its original amount isn’t going to affect the calories that much in one serving. Mind you this makes a cake the size of a Bundt Pan.

I decided to combine the two recipes and make my own version. So I am going to keep the Joy of Cooking recipe add 1 tsp of lemon zest and 1 cup of frozen raspberries.

Well there are days that are good baking days and days that are not. I turned the cake out and half of it was stuck. I have come to the conclusion that I added too many berries (2 cups). I think reducing the amount to 1 cup will make a better cake and won’t have it be all crazy. The cake has a light lemon flavor, sweet, tender, and the raspberries add some tartness. Below is a picture of a slice of the good half of the cake 🙂

Lemon-Raspberry Pound Cake/Yogurt Cake (Reduced Fat)

From the Joy of Cooking with a little of Weight Watchers.com added in

2 1/4 cups sifted cake flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

5 tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 large egg

2 large egg whites

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp lemon zest

1 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt

1 cups frozen or fresh raspberries

1/4 cup powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350° F, and grease and flour a Bundt pan.

Sift together cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl beat unsalted butter until creamy; then add the sugar and beat until light in color. Whisk together egg, egg whites, vanilla, and lemon zest; then gradually beat into the butter sugar mixture until smooth. Next alternate flour mixture in 3 parts and yogurt in 2 parts. Mix together until smooth. Then fold in raspberries until combined.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from oven and let cool in the pan on a cooling rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool. Dust with powdered sugar and serve.

 

One Response to “Stack on the Pounds I Love Me Some Cake”

  1. pastrybrush Says:

    So, this morning I go onto WW.com to calculate my points for the morning and look up this recipe again.

    Surprise, Surprise

    The recipe has been revised and they fixed the 1 Tbsp of sugar and put it as 1 cup


Leave a Reply

