When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

The Egg Incident and Chocolate July 11, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Souffle — pastrybrush @ 6:38 pm
Tags: ,

The omen of a bad baking day has occurred. I ran out of parchment paper and forgot to buy more, so ended up using foil…we will see how that good idea worked out :sarcasm: But the big omen almost ruined the entire cake and it isn’t even for me. That is what makes it worse. I am making it for my friend Iggiers Tiggers’s birthday. Well that is just what I call her 🙂

While separating the eggs for the below recipe, I am doing this in my hand as to avoid stabbing the yolk with a shell and destroying the 8 eggs I have already separated, the worst thing happens.

A freak accident of a yolk.

Imagine gently placing an egg in your hand and slowly have the white remove itself between your fingers. When all of a sudden the yolk slips between your fingers and separates.

That did not just happen

I have half a broken yolk on my hand and the other somehow fell in one piece into all of the egg whites

:bloody screams of hate echo in my apartment:

I try to remove the yolk with a spoon and it keeps slipping off and making it worse. I don’t know how it happen but the kitchen gods must have heard my screams because I ended up fishing out all of the yolk and the whites beat up perfectly.

Crisis averted. Yes, yes, yes. I know that I should crack and separated the eggs in a small bowl just in case something like this happens and I have to dump out 8 egg whites. But I don’t like to follow the rules 🙂

The cake actually baked up beautifully. I actually put a little of the batter aside so that I could make a mini one to taste, since I am giving the entire cake away. The smaller one might have baked a little too long. That is what I get for starting my entry instead of watching the cake.

The cake was freaking awesome. Even the one that was over-baked. It was creamy, fudgey, and reminded me of a really upscale brownie. I love it. The confectioners’ sugar and cocoa on top give it an extra kick. This would be really great with a raspberry fruit sauce or maybe just a spoonful of fresh whipped cream on top. The cake does sink in a little, but that is what is suppose to happen. Enjoy the chocolaty goodness.

Chanterelle’s Chocolate Soufflé Cake

Courtesy of The Chocolate Deck: 50 Luscious Indulgences

1 pound bittersweet chocolate, chopped

1 cup unsalted butter

9 large eggs, separated

3/4 cup plus 1 Tbsp sugar

Unsweetened cocoa

Confectioners’ sugar

Position rack in middle of the oven and preheat to 300° F. Butter and flour a 9-inch spring form pan and line bottom with parchment paper.

Melt chocolate with butter over a double boiler. Remove from heat.

Beat yolks and 3/4 cup sugar with an electric mixer in a large bowl until pale yellow in color and very thick.

Beat egg whites with clean beaters in a large bowl to soft peaks. Beat in 1 tbsp sugar.

Gently fold one-third of chocolate mixture into yolk mixture. Then fold in one-thirds of whites into the yolk mixture. Repeat alternating chocolate and whites until combines.

Transfer batter to pan. Bake 30 minutes, until the edges are firm but the center still jiggles. Cool on a wire rack.

Remove side of pan. Dust cake with cocoa and then confectioners’ sugar (I did this probably twice, so cocoa, confectioners’ sugar, then cocoa, and confectioners’ sugar again).

 

Leave a Reply

