When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Adventures at the Market July 14, 2008

Filed under: Farm Market — pastrybrush @ 1:25 pm

Yesterday I wandered over to the Berry Farm Market to pick up some vegetables that they grew at the farm. I usually go to the farm to pick my own which is really fun to do, but yesterday I was being lazy. You can’t imagine all of the vegetables, herbs, and flowers that they have at the farm that you can pick. Last year I went crazy and picked yellow squash, zucchini, and tomatoes; I can’t remember how much money I spent but I know it was a pretty penny. The highlight of last year was a zucchini that was bigger than my forearm; height and width, CRAZY.

This visit to the market yielded yellow squash, zucchini, yellow onions, and locally grown peaches. I can’t tell you how much I love fresh peaches from the farm. When I was in college, I use to go to the orchard that grew their own peaches and apples. The peaches were the best that I have ever had and now I can’t even buy a peach from the grocery store because it isn’t the same. The same thing happens to me every year when I go and pick my own strawberries at the berry farm. Once you eat them fresh off the vine, you will never want to eat one from the grocery store. You will just wait until that one time of the year in June and just go picking every week, just to get your fill. I think last year I totaled probably 24 pounds of strawberries. This year I only picked 15 pounds; I was being lazy again.

Because of all of these vegetables I am going to be making some yummy stuff this week. Tonight I am going to be making my Nanny’s Sautéed Squash. Also, since today is the 14th of July, Bastille Day, I am going to try my hand at French Macarons, which is going to be an adventure in itself. I have been reading a lot of reviews and recipes of different macarons and the best way to make them, and think I have finally found the recipe that I am going to use thanks to Tartlette. Tuesday I will be making my favorite Zucchini Bread and my two favorite Tomato Sauce recipes. Somewhere in here I will remember to play with my stove top pizzelle iron that I got in the other day. This is going to be a busy baking and cooking week, so I will probably be posting some of the recipes the day after I make them or a little later in the week.

With that I will leave you with some of the pictures that I took of the vegetables and fruit that I bought at the market. I should have taken my camera with me to the market, but I thought it might look weird if I just started taking random pictures of the produce 🙂

Please excuse the crappy pictures. That is one thing that I really need to work on. Cleaning the table off when I am taking pictures. Along with hopefully getting a new camera soon

 

Leave a Reply

