When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Fresh and locally grown July 16, 2008

Filed under: Casseroles,Side Dishes — pastrybrush @ 2:28 am
Tags: , ,

The squash and the onions that I recently purchased at the Berry Farm Market have been disposed of.

I mean to say: I made my Nanny’s Sautéed Squash.

This recipe is so simple, but it is so yummy to me. I can eat loads of this even though I shouldn’t since squash you know makes you….yeah. But it is that yummy that you can’t help yourself. I made a batch up and pretty much ate half of it for dinner. Every time I eat it I am reminded of my Nanny and my mom. Mom used to make it all the time when we (my brother and I) were growing up. My brother really didn’t care for it, but I loved it. I loved it so much that I would watch mom make it and that is how I picked it up. Actually that is how I picked up a lot of recipes, just by hanging out in the kitchen with my mom or dad. Back then it was usually Dad cooking, but Mom popped in the kitchen every once in awhile and made something good.

So the other day I made this recipe and used salted fatback and it ended up being a little fatter than I am used to, but I still loved it. Recently, Nanny and I had been discussing trying to find a good squash casserole recipe and when I was flipping through Paula Deen’s cookbook The Lady and Sons Too, I think I found the winner. Well, with some modifications of course. 🙂 I don’t have any pictures of it, but it turned out yummy and rich. Everything that I was hoping for. 🙂 If you ever make a big batch like I do, and you have leftovers you have to try this recipe.

Nanny’s Sautéed Squash

4-5 pieces of thick-cut bacon diced or 3-4 pieces of sliced fatback

5 medium yellow squash sliced into 1/8 – 1/4 inch rounds

2 medium onions sliced 1/8 – 1/4 inch

salt and pepper to taste

In a large skillet over medium-low heat add the bacon and cook until fat is rendered out. If you are using fat back, once the fat renders out remove from pan. Next add the squash and onions and cover. Cook until the onions are soft and translucent and the squash is tender, about 20 minutes. Remove the cover to cook some of the water off (5-6 minutes), and season with salt and pepper to taste and serve. If you used salted fatback you might not need to add salt.

Squash Casserole

Courtesy of Paula Deen, but with some modification by pastrybrush

3 cups sautéed squash and onions- recipe above – use fatback

2 cups Ritz Crackers, crushed

1 cup evaporated milk

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 tsp pepper – if you didn’t add it when you sautéed the squash

Place the sautéed squash and onion mixture in a large bowl. Add the cracker crumbs, milk, and cheese, and stir well. Stir in the eggs and pepper. Pour mixture into a greased 2 quart casserole. Bake at 350°F for 45-50 minutes or until bubbly and cooked through. Baking time might increase based on your oven.

 

One Response to “Fresh and locally grown”

  1. Mabia Says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I was just thinking I wish my “Nanny” was still alive to show me how to make it one more time… This recipe is pretty close to how she cooked hers. Fatback-of course!!!!


Leave a Reply

