When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Oh Sweet Sweet Zucchini Bread July 17, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Quick Breads — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags:

I love quick breads. Especially Banana Nut Bread with butter spread on one side and vanilla frosting on the other. Yes, I know I am weird, but it tastes so good. 🙂

I had never heard of zucchini bread until I met my roommate in college (A-Jello). When her parents used to come and visit us, her mother would always bring zucchini bread and her dad used to make us homemade pizza, yummy. Every time I thought of zucchini bread I couldn’t help but think, that can’t taste good at all. But if you think about it, it is the same instance with carrots. Although, I love carrot cake. 🙂

A couple of years back after I left college, I was looking through my Cook’s Country magazine and saw that they had a recipe for zucchini bread. I had to try it this time, and see why A-Jello loved it so much. The recipe was pretty straight forward, the only complicated part was grating the zucchini and then squeezing the excess water out with a kitchen towel.

After I made it the first time, I couldn’t help but make it for others and have them try it. I love mine with a little excess cinnamon and allspice. I like it spicy. 🙂 It reminds me of Thanksgiving and Christmas. So far anytime that I make it people want more, they can’t get enough. The same thing happened with my Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting, they are sinful. One day I will post that recipe too, it is one of my favorites and it is dangerous to make because every time I am tempted to eat all of the cupcakes. 🙂

Zucchini Bread

Courtesy of Cook’s Country Aug/Sept 05 Issue

1 pound zucchini, seeded and grated

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon ( I like it spicier so I add 1 1/4 tsp)

1 tsp ground allspice ( I like it spicier so I add 1 1/4 tsp)

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/4 cup plain yogurt

2 large eggs

1 tbsp lemon juice

6 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 375°F. Generously coat a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan with cooking spray.

Slice zucchini in half length wise and scoop out the seeds. Grate the zucchini, peal and all, using coarse holes on a box grater. When all the zucchini is grated, place it into a clean dish towel and wring out as much liquid as possible.

Whisk flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, allspice, and salt in a large bowl. In a small bowl whisk together sugar, yogurt, eggs, lemon juice, and butter until combined. Gently fold yogurt mixture and zucchini into flour mixture using a spatula until just combines. Transfer batter to prepared pan.

Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few crumbs attacked, 45 to 55 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes in pan, then turn out onto wire rack to cool for at least 1 hour. Bread can be wrapped in plastic and stored at room temperature for 3 days.

 

3 Responses to “Oh Sweet Sweet Zucchini Bread”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I made this bread this week and found it to be very soggy and disappointing, not sure what went wrong! I have another recipe from Martha Stewart, which I think exceeds this one from Cook;s Country.

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Hey Sarah,
      Did you make sure that you wrapped the grated zucchini in a towel and squeezed out all the water?
      I know that that was a key point to the recipe, and should help a lot with the sogginess.

  2. Dee Says:

    I made this recipe, made sure to squeeze out the zucchini and substituted oil for butter. It turned out great, thank you.


Leave a Reply

