When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Peachy Peachy Muffin Goodness July 18, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Muffins,Peaches — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am

For the past couple of days I have been searching through all of my cookbooks to find recipes to use the peaches that I bought from the Berry Farm Market. Of course almost every book contain something like a peach pie or cobbler, but I wanted something different that I haven’t made yet. My favorite peach anything that I have ever had was a peach scone from a local cafe back in college. Anytime I could get my hands on one I would buy a peach scone and have a cup of peppermint tea and people watch. It was the best thing in the world. It was the perfect texture with chunks of peaches and flecks of oats throughout. Man, I need to recreate that recipe. Maybe one day.

God, I miss those scones and the simple days….oh well

I decided to pick up my King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion and give it a flip. I had already made the Peach Scone recipe in the book and was hoping for something just as good. I came across a muffin recipe and the usual cobbler and pie. I decided that the muffin recipe sounded like a good idea and I had all of the listed ingredients in my pantry.

The recipe said that it makes 16 muffins; of what size I have no idea. I decided that since the recipe made so much batter that I would make Giant Muffins instead of the standard size. It ended up making 11 giant muffins, so I would think that it would make approximately 22 regular size muffins. The muffins were slightly sweet with a hint of spiciness and chunks of peaches throughout. The sugar sprinkled on the top gave it a nice crunch and sweetness that compliment the rest of the muffin.

Spiced Peach Muffins

The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion pg 73

4 1/2 cups (19 oz) unbleached all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

4 1/2 tsp (3/4 oz) baking powder

2 cups (16 oz) dark brown sugar

1/2 tsp ground allspice

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 large eggs

3/4 cup (5 1/4 oz) vegetable oil

1 1/4 cup (10 oz) milk

4 large peaches, diced (not peeled)

Granulated sugar

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Combine the flour, salt, baking powder, brown sugar, allspice, nutmeg, and cinnamon in a large bowl. Whisk until the brown sugar is evenly distributed and there are no lumps. In a separate bowl or large measuring cup, beat eggs, vegetable oil, and milk together, then stir into the dry ingredients. Gently stir in the fruit. Grease 16 muffin cups and heap the batter into the cups; they will be very full. Sprinkle the tops with granulated sugar. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Remove from the oven, let cool for 5 minutes on a rack, then turn out of the pans to finish cooling.

 

Leave a Reply

