When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Millions of Peaches, Peaches for Me July 19, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cobbler — pastrybrush @ 7:16 am
Tags: ,

I had yesterday all planned out.

08:00 wake up and make a peach and raspberry cobbler

09:00 run to the grocery store to get a few items that I needed for baking later in the week

10:00 bake more zucchini bread and the spicy avocado and bean salad – which I will post later in the week

Of course my butt was behind by an hour all day. I also wanted to do some laundry but that went out the window. I actually didn’t get up on time. I continued to hit snooze like I usually do and when I woke up it was 9am…CRAP. I laid in bed with my two little monsters and they looked so adorable. My oldest was sleeping on a stack of pillows and my youngest was chilling at the bottom of the bed. I wish I could have taken a picture but by the time I would have gotten up to grab the camera they would have been attacking each other in the living room.

When I finally woke up, I sliced up the rest (about 4 pounds) of the 7 pounds of peaches that I bought at the market. It took FOREVER. I made the following modifications to the recipe: added 1 tsp cinnamon, used 10 oz frozen raspberries, used lard instead of vegetable shortening, and 1/4 cup tapioca instead of cornstarch as the thickener.

I also found that a 9 inch pie dish was not big enough to fit all of the filling, so I put it in a 2 quart baking dish. I thought that I had vegetable shortening in my pantry but it turns out that I threw it away the other day since I don’t use it that often. But I did have a nice size container of lard.

You are probably saying, “Gross, why on earth do you have lard?”

I am glad you asked. I mentioned in a previous post that I live on the east coast and no one makes fresh tortillas up here. Well when I decided to make my own the recipe called for lard. I thought, “oh, Crisco will work just fine.” Turns out I think it has an odd flavor to it when it comes to tortillas which are just flour, lard, salt, and water. So I went on a manhunt for lard, and carry it to this day just in case I get a craving for fresh flour tortillas…they are the best 🙂

The crust to the cobbler turned out nice. It was flaky and had a slight lard taste, which is why I usually use all butter but I was trying to follow the recipe. Which as you can see didn’t really work out :). The filling to the cobbler was good. It wasn’t too sweet and the sugar on the crust gave it a nice crunch and added sweetness. I think using tapioca instead of cornstarch turned out to be a good idea because I think that it would have been a juicy mess since the recipe did not call for very much cornstarch. All in all the cobbler turned out very well and everyone seemed to enjoy it. Now I just have to give away the other half so that I don’t eat it all 🙂

Peach and Raspberry Cobbler

King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion, pg 139

CRUST

1 cup (4 1/2 oz) unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

4 tbsp (2 oz) cold unsalted butter

1/4 cup (1 5/8 oz) coled vegetable shortening

2 to 4 tbsp (1-2 oz) ice water

FILLINGS

5 cups peeled, sliced peaches (12 to 13 peaches, 4 to 4 1/2 pounds)

1 cup (5 oz) raspberries

1 tsp lemon juice

3/4 to 1 cup (5 3/4 to 7 oz) sugar (to taste)

1 tbsp cornstarch

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 tbsp coarse white sugar

Preheat the oven to 425°F.

Butter a 9 inch round cake pan or pie dish. Whisk together the flour and salt in a medium-sized mixing bowl, or use a food processor, then cut or pulse in the butter and shortening until the mixture is coarse and crumbly. Add just enough water to form a cohesive dough (bring the sough together with your hands, or if using a food processor, pulse just enough times for the dough to form a ball in the bowl). Wrap the dough and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Combine th peaches, raspberries, and lemon juice in a large bowl. Mix together the sugar, cornstarch, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg and stir into the fruit. Spoon the filling into the prepared pan.

Roll out the crust to a 9 inch circle and place on top of the fruit. Spring with sugar. Cut several vents in the top and bake the cobbler for 15 minutes. Reduce the oven heat to 350°F and bake for an additional 40 to 45 minutes, until the crust is golden and the juiced are bubbling. Remove the cobbler from the oven and cool it on a wire rack.

 

Leave a Reply

