When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

My first Tuesday with Dorie :) July 22, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cobbler,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

I am so excited.

This is my first Tuesdays with Dorie entry. This weeks recipe was chosen by Amanda from Like Sprinkles on a Cupcake is a Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler, page 415 in Dori Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours . My first thought was interesting, I have rhubarb in my freezer that I sliced up and froze a couple of months ago. My next thought was, I have really never liked cherry cobbler or anything cherry flavored. I guess it stems from being feed cherry flavored cough syrup as a kid. Also, I think the only cherry pies I have ever had were made with cherry pie filling, and I do not like cherry pie filling from a can. But I say to myself, what the hell someone will eat it :)

When I went to the grocery store to pick up the necessary items that I needed, mainly sweet cherries and more rhubarb. I took a look at the rhubarb and it didn’t look very fresh. I decided that the thinly sliced rhubarb will have to do instead of the 1-inch chunks that the recipe calls for. Okay, on to the cherries. I have 3 types to pick from and I have only ever eaten a fresh cherry once in my life and that was with A-Jello. So I decide to go for the dark sweet cherries and I picked up a small bag of Rainiers because I thought that they were pretty. I guess sometimes I do act like a girl.

Since I just recently made a cobbler i decided that for this recipe I am going to half it so that I can try to stick to my diet this week. Wish me luck :/ Which means extra cherries. Which also means I can eat them as is or I can make a Clafouti. I also recently bought some plums and apricots, so they could also make their way into something with cherries that is delicious :).

The Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler actually turned out really nice. I used my new cherry pitter and went at the fresh dark sweet cherries. My kitchen ended up looking like I punched a bowl of cherries. There was cherry splatter everywhere, including me :). I ended up making the dough by hand because I have yet to cave in and buy a food processor. The balls of dough on top have a nice sweet, nuttiness, which comes from the brown sugar and whole wheat flour in the dough. The filling had a nice sweetness to it, but it wasn’t too sweet. I wish that the filling was a little thicker but a little more cornstarch can fix that up really quick. This cobbler was really easy to make and very tasty and more importantly doesn’t taste like cherry pie filling :).

)

My tiny cobbler :)

 

8 Responses to “My first Tuesday with Dorie :)”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Welcome to TWD! Glad you liked the cobbler, can’t wait to see some pictures when you get your computer fixed :)

  2. Michelle Says:

    Welcome! Im so glad you joined us. TWD is a blast. This is my third recipe with the group .
    Im glad it turned out good for you! Im looking fwd to seeing your next TWD blog!

  3. Shandy Says:

    Hello and great cherry/rhubarb cobbler! The rhubard is definitely not in season right now so I think many of us had trouble finding something presentable to use. You did fabulous and congratulations on your first TWD! =D

  4. HoneyB Says:

    Your little cobbler is so cute! :)

  5. pamela Says:

    Great job on your 1st TWD challenge. The cobbler looks great.

  6. Di Says:

    Great job on your first recipe! Welcome to TWD.

  7. Barbara Says:

    Love your little cobbler! Fresh cherries are wonderful, as is a dessert made with really good-quality fresh or frozen fruit!

    Welcome! I look forward to hearing about what else you do with the cherries.

  8. Dolores Says:

    Welcome! Great job on your cobbler. I’m glad the cherries worked for you after all.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers