When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Spice Spice Everywhere July 23, 2008

Filed under: Spices — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

About a year ago, a friend of mine got me this basket of spices for a gift. It had the best cinnamon in the world in it and I had no idea where she got it from. Well the other day when I was at work, one of the girls friends stop in and was holding a small container of spices.

I recognized the container and immediately thought of the cinnamon that I have been using sparingly because I didn’t want to run out. I turned to both of them and asked where they got it from. I then explained the cinnamon thing, and the guy asked if it was the Vietnamese Cinnamon. I guess I made this face that betrayed me. The “oh my god that stuff is so good, I can’t believe they have a spice place around here” face. He laughed and said he made the same face about the cinnamon. I proceeded to get directions and then decided I have to get to this place.

Sunday afternoon, I made my little adventure to the spice place (Penzeys Spices). When I walked in I was in Spice Heaven. Anything you could ever want and things you have never heard of. They have whole and ground spices, so if you like to grind your own spices you will have a field day. I made a B-line to the cinnamon to find what I wanted. They have jars there that you can open and smell the product. I had my nose in all of the different types of cinnamon and the cocoa powder. Once you get a sniff of the cocoa powder you practically drool on yourself.

This place is FANTASTIC!!!! I loved every minute of looking at all they had to offer and smelling it. So after looking around the place and wanting to buy everything insight I settled on 3 items: a 1.7 oz jar of Extra Fancy Vietnamese Cassia Cinnamon, a 0.9 oz jar of Mace, and 1 lb bag of Dutch Process Cocoa Powder.

Oh, the fun I will have now that I have my items and know that this place is around. Next time, I am thinking about getting some curry powders, maybe some Herbes de Provence, and Chinese Five Spice Powder

 

3 Responses to “Spice Spice Everywhere”

  1. Di Says:

    I’m so jealous that you have a Penzey’s near you. Actually, it’s probably just as well that I don’t; I’d spend way too much money there.

  2. DrFaulken Says:

    I have been there too and really like it. I am a little concerned that the store is too big but perhaps they will do enough business to stick around.

  3. Barbara A. Says:

    I’m near a Penzeys too! I love walking into that store and smelling all the smells. My husband loves the Herbes de Provence with the touch of lavender. Their quality is superb.

    As an additional benefit, the Penzeys store in Madison, Wisconsin, is across the street from Whole Foods and in the same shopping center as a wonderful new store called “Vom Fass.” http://www.vomfassusa.com So far it’s the only Vom Fass in the US. Pricey but fascinating.


Leave a Reply

