When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesday’s With Dorie – Summer Fruit Galette July 29, 2008

Filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 2:30 am
Tags: , ,

This weeks TWD was chosen by Michelle from Michelle in Colorado Springs and she picked the Summer Fruit Galette on pages 366-367 in Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. You can find the full recipe on Michelle’s site or pick up Dorie’s book and flip to it πŸ™‚ . The first time that I saw this recipe I was trying to figure out which fruit I would use. I decided to pick up some plums and apricots and give it a go with one of them. I have actually never had plums or apricots baked into anything so I thought that this would be a good chance to try them for the first time. For that matter I have never had a fresh apricot. I decided to make six small galettes: 3 apricot, 2 apricot/plum, and 1 plum.

It’s just a jump to the left…

and a step to the right….

Sorry, while writing this entry I am watching/listening to the Rocky Horror Picture Show. The time warp scene makes me happy.

Okay, back to galettes.

I decided to make individual portions so that I wasn’t tempted to eat the entire galette. I decided to slice up the fruit and added 1 tablespoon of sugar and 1/4 tsp of ground ginger to each bowl of fruit: one bowl of apricots and one bowl of plums. I divided the pie dough into 6 portions and let them rest in the refrigerator for an hour. I rolled each portion on a well floured board to a diameter of approximately 6 inches, spread one tsp of apricot jam in the center, and then sprinkled 1 tablespoon of crushed up digestive biscuits.

I decided to use digestive biscuits because everyone on the forum was talking about another option to graham crackers, and I thought that that was a great idea. I neatly placed the sliced up fruit in a circle in the center of each pie dough. After gently pulling up the sides of the dough I placed the galettes in the freezer for 15 minutes to rest. When I placed them in the oven the first time there was no cracks or leaks until I added the custard (about 1 tablespoon to each galette). The only galettes to leak out were the plums; however, it was not too bad and did not burn.

The apricot galettes turned out perfectly.

I decided that I would eat the plum/apricot galette that leaked out the most. There wasn’t any custard left in the inside but the plums took on a nice sweet flavor, and the biscuits mixed in the the fruit and jam had a wonderful brown sugar sweetness to them that added a lot to the galette. The crust was awesome. It was nice, flaky, and had a wonderful flavor. I opted to use lard instead of vegetable shortening, and it turned out great. The only downside to the galette; I couldn’t wait to eat it and ended up burning my mouth :/ . But it was very yummy in all of its hotness. I know what I am eating for breakfast in the morning πŸ™‚

I now leave you with a picture of the galettey goodness that leaked all over the baking pan in all of its glory πŸ™‚ .

 

7 Responses to “Tuesday’s With Dorie – Summer Fruit Galette”

  1. Jules Says:

    Mmmmmmm. Those look good enough to eat. πŸ˜‰

  2. Lillian Says:

    They’re pretty little things. I do love the mini ones.

  3. Andrea Says:

    Thanks for getting Time Warp stuck in my head! I have that song on a Halloween CD and it always gets me dancing πŸ™‚ Your galettes look wonderful, they are so pretty!

  4. Christine Says:

    Your galettes look delicious and are so pretty!

  5. pamela Says:

    The minis are a great idea for portion control. Nice job.

  6. Erin Says:

    Those babies are pretty darn cute!

  7. Barbara Says:

    Those are so cute! Wasn’t this a great recipe?

    It’s been years since I saw Rocky Horror. Thanks for reminding me of many fun times with my college friends!

    My husband never has seen it. As soon as we get the living room painted and the TV hooked up again I’ll have to do something about that!


Leave a Reply

