When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Peach Oat Scones August 8, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Scones — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

While flipping through my Dorie Greenspan cookbook, Baking: From My Home to Yours, I found a scone recipe that caught my eye because it had old fashion oats in it. Back when I was in college I used to go to a family owned coffee shop that made all of their baked goods. I use to always get a peach oat scone and peppermint tea. I could sit in that coffee shop for hours and just people watch. I have not been back to my old stomping grounds for over a year now, and I really miss those scones.

As soon as I saw this recipe I had some hope, that maybe just maybe I could have them again.

The recipe was just for an Oatmeal Nutmeg Scone. I decided to add some peaches, omit the nutmeg, and add a little cinnamon. I think since the peaches were a little juicy that it made the batter extremely wet so I was unable to pat out the dough and make triangles. I just did what the lazy part of me said to do and added a little more flour and then made drop scones. They baked up perfectly in their little mounds. When I went to go taste them it just wasn’t the same. They are good scones, but I was just looking for that one memory and it wasn’t there. I think next time I will reduce the amount of oats because it was a little too much and increase the sugar. I might just have to combine a few recipes together to find the perfect one. I remember the peach scone from my past just having a hint of oat, my bad. But aside from not being the scone I was searching for. They turned out great and are a wonderful scone on its own but not very sweet. Below is the recipe for the scone that came out of my oven 🙂 .

Peach Oatmeal Scones

Modified from Dorie Greenspan’s Oatmeal Nutmeg Scones

1 large egg

1/2 cup cold buttermilk

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats

1/3 cup sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 peach, peeled and diced

10 Tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Preheat the oven to 400° F. Line a baking sheet with parchment or a silicone mat.

Stir the egg and buttermilk together.

Whisk the flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together in a large bowl. Drop in the butter and using your fingers, toss to coat the pieces of butter with flour. Cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture is pebbly. Add in the peach and coat with flour mixture.

Pour the egg and buttermilk mixture over the dry ingredients and stir with a fork until the dough comes together. The dough will be wet and sticky.

To make drop scones just spoon the batter out of the bowl and place on the baking sheet. Space them about 2 inches apart. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes or until the tops are golden and slightly firm. Transfer to a rack and cool for 10 minutes before serving, or wait for them to come to room temperature.

 

2 Responses to “Peach Oat Scones”

  1. stacielk Says:

    Lovely scones. I’ve picked up Dorie’s book a time or two from the library but would love to own in one day! Welcome to the Daring Bakers!

  2. Di Says:

    I’ve made these scones (without the peaches) a couple times. The first time I made the recipe as written. Another time, I added raisins and substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg. Those were really tasty.


Leave a Reply

