When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Peachy Blackberry Cobblery Goodness August 11, 2008

Filed under: Cobbler — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

Back in college my friend Dancer made this yummy cobbler thing for dessert for one of our Sunday Suppers. Usually when someone says cobbler to me I think of something similar to a pie with just one crust on top. I guess that comes from how I grew up and what we made. Well come to find out there are many different types of cobblers: brown betty, grunts, crumbles, crisps, and the buckle. This happens to be something close to that of a buckle.

It has been almost 7 years since Dancer gave me this recipe and I love it. It is actually her grandmother’s cobbler recipe. It is very simple and is a go to recipe if you have extra fruit that you need to use. Currently I am still working on using all the peaches in the peck that my father got me. I thought of this today and just couldn’t pass it up. Also, since I had some extra blackberries I thought why not add those too.

What is nice about the recipe and odd the first time I made the recipe was that you place the fruit on top of the batter. After it has finished baking the batter rises above the fruit and pushes it to bottom so it is nice and gooey at the bottom and a soft cake texture on top. The melted butter that it cooks in gives the corners a nice crunchy buttery goodness. It is awesome!!!

YUMMY!!!

I can’t wait to dig into this tonight. I actually doubled the recipe so that it would fit in a 13 x 9 inch baking dish. If you don’t double the recipe it actually fits into an 8″ square baking dish. Below is the original recipe that Dancer gave me and what I baked up today. You will notice that when I doubled the recipe that I did not double the butter. It would be too buttery if you doubled it and I figured the bottom and sides were coated and that one stick was enough

Dancer’s Grandmother’s Cobbler

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1 cup milk

1 stick butter/margarine, melted

1 qt. fruit (drained)

In a small bowl mix together the sugar, flour, and baking powder until combined. Add the milk and mix until incorporated, and set aside. Add the melted butter to the bottom of an 8-inch square baking dish. Pour the batter on top of the melted butter. Top with fruit and and a little extra sugar if needed. Bake at 375°F for 30 minutes

Peach and Blackberry Cobbler

2 cups flour

2 cups sugar

2 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 cups milk

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

4 peaches (peeled and sliced)

1 pint blackberries (rinsed and drained)

2 tbsp sugar

1/4 tsp cinnamon

In a medium bowl mix together the sugar, flour, baking powder, and cinnamon until combined. Add the milk and mix until incorporated, and set aside. Add the melted butter to a 13 x 9-inch baking dish. Pour the batter over the top of the melted butter. Top with fruit and sprinkle 2 tbsp of sugar and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon on top. Bake at 375°F for 1 hour or until the cobbler has cooked through and pulled away from the edges. At 30 minutes you will probably need to tent the cobbler with foil so that it does not brown too much.

 

Leave a Reply

