When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tiramisu My Way August 13, 2008

Filed under: Tiramisu — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,
After it has been dug into.  DrFaulken was in a hurry and couldn't keep his hands off of it.

After it has been dug into.

I grew up eating ladyfingers as a kid. In my family when someone said we were going to have ladyfingers it was packaged ladyfingers layered with whipped cream. That is it no mascarpone cheese, no sugar, no espresso, no Kahlua, nothing extra just simple. My dad used to make it all the time and as I got older I started to help him. He originally got the recipe from my grandmother, who is all Italian. Very simple whip up some heavy cream and then in a deep serving dish layer ladyfingers and whipped cream and keep going until you are done. Leave it in the fridge over night and the next day DIG IN!!

My parents always use to tell me the story of when Schnapps (my childhood miniature schnauzer) stole my brothers bowl of ladyfingers and ate all of it. He didn’t even get sick. Schnapps was a really good dog. Very protective, stubborn, and probably the meanest schnauzer I have ever met. But I loved him. If he was still around he would be 29 this year….CRAZY!!

For about 10 years now I have been a tiramisu snob. I am so picky about it that it isn’t even funny. My biggest problem with most is that they soak the ladyfingers/savoiardi too much and they become a complete soggy mess and just grainy. A really bad texture in your mouth. My number two, they add too many ingredients and make it too complicated.

When I was probably 16 years old when I was introduced to tiramisu and it was love at first bite. Since then I have been modifying recipes to find the perfect one and I did. It was simple and it didn’t involve any eggs just sugar, heavy cream, mascarpone cheese, vanilla, espresso, Kahlua, and ladyfingers. About 5 years ago I wandered into a specialty food store and found savoiardi and immediately preferred them over the sponge cake like ladyfingers that you find in the grocery store. They are just crisp, sweet, and work very well with dipping.

I make this dessert for anyone that likes tiramisu or anything coffee flavored and it is always an immediate hit. It is my go to dessert for every occasion. I usually make it in a spring form pan so that you can see the layers when you un mold it and you can slice it like cake šŸ™‚ .

This year by request I made it for DrFaulken’s birthday. I was going to try something different and put it in a trifle bowl and dust it with cocoa powder. I was going to use a stencil that said “Happy Birthday.” That was a complete disaster. I couldn’t lay the stencil on the whipped cream so I held it over it and it was just a glob of cocoa powder. So I scraped off the top and tried again. Still messed it up. I gave up and dusted the rest with cocoa powder and just hoped it didn’t look completely horrible. I guess I know better now.

Tiramisu – Pastrybrush’s not so secret version šŸ™‚

Coffee Mixture

2/3 cup espresso or strong brewed coffee

1/4 cup Kahlua

Mascarpone Filling

1 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1/3 cup sugar

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 pound mascarpone cheese, softened at room temperature

1 1/2 packages Savoiardi (approx. 36 individual cookies)

Topping

1 cup heaving whipping cream

2 tbsp sugar

For the coffee mixture combine the espresso and Kahlua and set aside.

For the filling: whip the cream with sugar and vanilla until medium peaks form. Then fold in the softened mascarpone.

For the topping: whip 1 cup heavy cream and 2 tbsp of sugar together until stiff peaks form.

To assemble: dip the savoiardi in coffee mixture and place in the bottom of an 8-inch square springform pan or trifle bowl. Spread half of the mascarpone filling on top of the savoiardi. Then top with savoiardi dipped into coffee mixture, follow with the rest of the filling, another layer of savoiardi, and the whipped cream topping. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 24 hours before serving.

Then dig in šŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

