When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Peach Almond Tart August 14, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Peaches,Tarts — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

I saw this recipe about a month ago when I was reading Ivonne’s blog, Cream Puff In Venice. As soon as I saw the picture I knew that I was going to have to make this tart. First thing I thought was if good quality peaches were available. The next was that I needed a square tart pan. After a month went by I procured a peck of fresh from the orchard peaches and stop by Williams Sonoma and picked up a square tart pan.

LETS DO THIS!!!

I woke up Wednesday morning feeling crappy and thought that I would put off the tart. But when I went over and looked at the picture and realized I had two hours to waste before I really had to do something I decided that it was time. This recipe was very easy, but you need a scale on hand since everything is done by weight. The only thing that I would do different is to grind up my hazelnuts finer. I thought that they were good, but you can see specks of them in the frangipane.

Speaking of frangipane, this was my first one :)

I ended up using almond meal because I had some extra on hand, and that meant that I didn’t have to grind up all my nuts :) . The tart turned out great. Currently I have been unable to taste the final creation since I had to go to work soon after I finished it and now it is a little too late to be late night snacking.

Once I have tasted the tart I will write an UPDATE on the verdict. You can find a better picture and the recipe at the following link. Enjoy :)

**UPDATE**

The tart was actually very good. Not too sweet. I loved the crust. I definitely agree with my previous comment about grinding the hazelnuts finer. The texture was interesting with them being slightly coarse. The lemon flavor in the tart was kinda off putting because sometimes that is all that I tasted. It wasn’t strong but it was always there. Considering the title of the recipe is Peach Almond Tart. It had more flavors of hazelnut and lemon. I think next time I will omit the lemon zest and use all almond meal instead of ground up hazelnuts and almonds.

 

One Response to “Peach Almond Tart”

  1. Yummy, this looks really good. I’m actually in the middle of making a peach tart today and just came across your blog.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers