When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

To Vegan or Not to Vegan August 18, 2008

Filed under: Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am

I am not vegan.

Actually I am pretty far from being one. The thought of not eating any type of meat or dairy scares me to death. But I have A LOT of respect for the individuals that live their lives that way. I completely understand why they have chosen to go that way. I have stated many times in my everyday life that if I ever saw the animal that my food came from I would not be able to eat it. Like saw its face, dead or alive, there is NO way that I could eat that animal. In the same point I could never raise animals for meat. I get too attached too things. I am very attached to my two dogs. They are my equivalent to how people feel about their kids.

No you cannot eat my children 🙂

Why am I talking about vegans?

I have recently become a member of the Daring Bakers’ and my first challenge is approaching. I have been reading a lot of the forums and have a lot of respect for the Alternative Daring Bakers’. Those are individuals that have dietary restrictions, i.e. vegan, vegetarian, no gluten, no dairy, etc. These individuals have to be the MOST daring of all. They have to figure out a way to adapt a recipe, stick to the rules, and do it on time. The rest of us just have to essentially follow what we are given.

I have become extremely curious on how one would go about their everyday baking with things that are staples in my apartment (butter, eggs, milk, heavy cream, etc.) and still have it turn out tasty and perfect. During my research on what cookbooks I should buy, I came across Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. I flipped through the cookbook and instantly loved it. The recipes intrigued me: Tiramisu Cupcakes, Green Tea Cupcakes, Brooklyn vs Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes. Then I saw that this book and Vegan with a Vengeance had a huge following and I knew these were the two books that I needed to start my…

ADVENTURES IN VEGAN BAKING and some cooking :imagine a man slowly yelling this with an echo:

That is how it was in my head 🙂

I have been flipping through both of these books and reading all of the hints and compiling a list of basic staples that I need in my pantry/laundry room so that I can take the challenge head on. It isn’t too long and I have already ordered two things online (agar agar powder and nutritional yeast) because the grocery stores around here do not have very much of a selection.

I am ready to do this and see what it is like to bake vegan. All the mysteries, challenges, and tastes. I am not becoming a vegan in anyway.  I just want to see what the food is like.  I am going to be completely honest in the way it tastes. I will not hold back and I will tell you what my other omnivore (omni) friends think too. This is going to be a real challenge.

Look for the following in the next few days:

Golden Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Mousse Topping

Corn Chowder

Chickpea and Spinach Curry

Green Tea Cupcakes

 

One Response to “To Vegan or Not to Vegan”

  1. Cathleen Says:

    Mmmmm… Those are good ones to start with. Vegan Cupcakes is somewhat of a cult item in the vegan world. It’s truly amazing what you can do without eggs, butter, and milk. I still wonder sometimes if my baked goods are going to come out properly. It’s at the point now where I don’t even see any point in telling people that the cakes are vegan— what’s the point? They’re so delicious, there’s no need to explain anything. But of course, how can I resist that shocked look on their faces when they find out? I hope you love these recipes!!


Leave a Reply

