When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #1 August 20, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

My first challenge to myself is Golden Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Mousse Topping.

To tell you the truth, awhile back during the first the Next Food Network Star, there was a contestant that made a Chocolate Tofu Mousse Pie that completely intrigued me. I went online and got the recipe and made the pie. I completely fooled everyone and they loved it. Now I didn’t use the egg whites called for and to lighten up the filling I folded in some light Cool Whip, so it still wasn’t vegan. But damn it was good. That is what this topping totally reminded me of.

The only extra ingredients that I really needed to buy for this recipe was soy milk, non-hydrogenated margarine, extra firm silken tofu, and agave nectar (just because I wanted it….you can sub maple syrup).

The chocolate mousse topping turned out great. It really just tastes like a nice smooth dark chocolate mousse and it won’t leave the odd film in your mouth or make you feel totally fat like ones made with heavy cream do. The cupcake batter came together really nicely. I am one of those people that loves to lick the bowl. It was a little different this time because I can noticeably taste the soy milk, but I like soy so that didn’t matter to me. When they were baking they smelled awesome. Just like non vegan cupcakes :) . They baked up perfectly. I was so proud.

Now the most important part, the taste…

The cupcake by itself you can tell there is soy in it but it is moist, very tasty, and the wrapper comes off easily. But once you eat the mousse and the cupcake together it is a whole different story. HOLY SHIT!!!! it was fantastic….I LOVED IT!!! I totally recommend these cupcakes :) You will notice with these vegan cupcakes and many others it is the topping that is the show and the cupcake is in the background. The toppings are what makes the cupcake, so when tasting keep chewing because it gets better.

Okay the verdict from my fellow omnis. They did know that it was vegan. This was hard. My cooking is my baby so yeah I cried once :(

Omni Friend #1: Took a bite and immediately spit it out, didn’t chew or anything. Did not like it at all. He apologized and later tasted the mousse by itself and liked it, but was against the cupcake part.

Omni Friend #2: Ate it and said it was okay. Thought it was dry, but I think that is because I put it in the fridge so the mousse wouldn’t go bad. So I think when serving bring to room temperature.

Omni Friend #3: Really liked it.

Omni Friend #4: Thought it was okay, but too much mousse.

Omni Friend #5 and co-worker “Butters”: Comment Pending

I think for next time I am going to try a couple of different things with the cupcake recipe to lessen the strong flavor that Omni #1 didn’t like. First, I think that the non-hydro margarine had a strong flavor, so next time I will opt and use 1/3 cup canola oil (which is given as an option). Also, the muffins did have a noticeable soy flavor so I am going to try rice milk the next time since it has a milder flavor. Once I try the cupcake recipe again I will update and tell you how the taste was and what Omni #1 thought :) .

FYI I might not include all of the cupcake recipes when I review them because I really love this book and think it is a great buy. So buy the book :)

Golden Vanilla Cupcakes

(makes 12 cupcakes)

Source: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

1 cup soy milk

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tbsp cornstarch

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt (increase salt to 1/2 tsp if using oil instead of margarine)

1/2 cup non-hydrogenated margarine, softened 0r 1/3 cup canola oil

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

Preheat oven to 350°F and line muffin pan with cupcake liners.

Whisk soy milk and vinegar in a measuring cup and set aside a few minutes to get good and curdled.

If using margarine: Sift the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl and mix

In a separate large bowl, use a hand held mixer at medium speed to cream the margarine and sugar for about 2 minutes until light and fluffy, do not beat past two minutes. Beat in the vanilla and almond extract. Then alternate beating in the soy milk mixture and the dry ingredients until incorporated.

If using oil: Beat together the soy milk mixture, oil, sugar, vanilla extract, and almond extract in a large bowl. Sift in the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and mix until no large lumps remain

Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full and bake for 20 to 22 minutes till done. Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool completely before frosting. To frost with chocolate mousse. Fill a pastry bag fitted with a large star tip with mousse and pipe a generous amount of topping on each cupcake. The more you put the better :)

Chocolate Mousse Topping

Source: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

1 (12.3 oz) pkg extra-firm silken tofu, drained of excess liquid

1/4 cup plain soy milk

2 tbsp agave syrup or maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 (12 oz) pkg semisweet chocolate chips

Crumble the tofu into a blender and add the soy milk, agave, and vanilla. Puree until completely smooth and set aside.

In a double boiler melt the chocolate chips. Once melted, remove from heat and let cool for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the chocolate to the tofu and blend until combined. Transfer the mousse to an airtight container and chill for 1 hour before piping.

 

2 Responses to “Vegan Adventure #1”

  1. Kelly D Says:

    I just made the peanut butter cupcakes from this book last night. These sound great!

  2. Sara Says:

    I love this cookbook! It’s definitely one of my go-to books for ideas and inspirations. One thing I do, that may help omni#1 like these little cakes is do like what you said, about switching milks. I never use soy milk in any of my recipes – not a fan of the soy flavor, so I use hemp milk, but oat or almond milks are also nice. Instead of margarine, try to hunt down Earth Balance Vegan Butter – it’ll have that ‘butter’ flavor that most will notice a difference if you use margarine or shortening. But canola is also a nice sub…But I seem to have great success with the EB vegan butter amongst my Omni tasters – giving that right kind of ‘fatty-goodness’ people look for in a dessert! Hope that helps with the omni’s and the vegan baking in general!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers