When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #2 August 21, 2008

Filed under: Chowder,Main Courses,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

Corn Chowder

Or in my kitchen, I randomly yell CHHOOWWWWDDDAAAAARRRRR!!!!

Because I am that weird

I made this for my first real vegan recipe because I have about 7 ears of corn in my fridge that my mom gave me when she was in town. I guess her neighbor came over and was growing sweet corn on part of his farm and just brought a bunch over. I have had it in my fridge for about a week and it was time to use it 🙂 .

This recipe actually turned out very well and for having no meat, dairy or egg products it was a fantastic chowder. I think next time I will add a little garlic because I LOVE it. One of my omni friends said it would be good with pork but was really good on its own. Another omni loved it and asked what was in it 🙂 The finally omni said it would be better with tomatoes or chicken or sausage or ….

OKAY I get it, you like meat. The point of this adventure was not to use it and be V E G A N.

Oh will they be surprised when I try to serve them vegan biscuits and sausage gravy…hehehe. Life is going to be interesting.

Back to the recipe. It was very simple and it gave me a chance to bring out my Le Creuset Dutch Oven. Damn I love this thing. IT is FLAME and fantastic. Sometimes ugly colored things are the way to go. The one item that I crave that I haven’t gotten yet, the kitchen aid mixer in pistachio. It is my dream machine.

Yes, I know I have a kitchen aid and yes it is dark green. That was a mistake made by my mother. My dad told her the color was wrong but she didn’t listen. So yes I have a kitchen aid and sometimes use it, but if I could have my dream one it would be the Professional 600 Series Pistachio colored Kitchen Aid Mixer. One day my precious one day :fingers crossed:

Sorry, day dreaming.

The Corn Chowder was simple and easy to prepare. Try it and you will be surprised that it is vegan, but if you like garlic I would advise you to add 2 cloves in when you are sauteing your vegetables at the beginning. This is fantastic the next day. I would advise you to make it a day ahead and warm it up and serve the next day. It will definitely be worth the wait 🙂 .

Flame ON!!!!

Flame ON!!!!

Corn Chowder

Source: Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

1 tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion, cut into 1/4 inch dice

1 large red bell pepper, finely chopped

1 cup carrots, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch dice

2 jalapeño peppers, seeded and thinly sliced

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 tsp dried thyme

few dashes of black pepper

1 tsp salt

3 cups vegetable broth

3 cups fresh corn kernels (approx 5 ears of corn)

2 medium size russet potatoes, peeled and sliced into 1/2 inch chunks

1 bay leaf

pinch cayenne

juice of 1 lime

1/4 cup plain soy milk

1 tbsp maple syrup

In a stockpot sauté the onions, bell pepper, carrots, and jalapeños in the olive oil over medium heat until the onion are translucent, about 7 minutes. Add the rosemary, thyme, black pepper, and salt; sauté 1 minute more. Add the broth, corn, potatoes, bay leaf, and cayenne. Cover and bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 20 minutes, or until the potatoes are tender. Uncover and simmer 10 minutes to let the liquid cook out a bit.

Remove the bay leaf and puree half of the chowder either using a hand held blender or by transferring half of the chowder to a blender, pureeing till smooth, and adding back to the soup. Add the lime juice to taste, and the soy milk and maple syrup, and simmer 5 more minutes. Let sit for at least 10 minutes and serve.

 

One Response to “Vegan Adventure #2”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Hi! Yes, they are from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World! It’s such a great cookbook!

    But so it Vegan With a Vengeance! Mmm, I love me some corn chowder.


Leave a Reply

