When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #3 August 22, 2008

Filed under: Curry,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

The Vegan Adventure continues with Chickpea and Spinach Curry. I wasn’t too intrigued by this recipe when I first read it through. Until I went to The Post Punk Kitchen’s Flickr page and saw a picture that someone took when they made this recipe. It looked SO GOOD that I knew that I had to make it.

The only problem that I had with this recipe was trying to find asafoetida (hing powder). Fizzle was right when he said that it is hard to find. Since it was only optional, I gave up and did not use it. The curry turned out great. I have never had a real curry or gone to an India restaurant or anything to get curry. My usually curry consists of me buying a jar of curry paste and making something close to the recipe on the back of the jar. It usually involves 1 chopped onion, 1 can diced tomatoes, curry paste, chicken, and hot cooked rice. Yes, chicken….remember I am not vegan I only play one on TV. Wait, I mean I am just experimenting right now.

Speaking of experimenting, I bought some tempeh at the grocery store today and the lady ringing me in gave me a weird look. I smiled at her and told her I was trying something new. I figured she was thinking something along the lines of. “What the hell is that and what are you suppose to do with it?” If I told her what I was really going to make with it she would have looked at me like I was crazy 🙂 .

Back to the curry. I really liked it and so did my omni friend that I made it for. All of the spices came together and it had the same flavor that the curry paste I usually by does. I am thinking that from now on since I have the spices I will just use the spice base in this recipe instead of going out and buying something else that I don’t have room for. I did not really care for the chickpeas, but they were still tasty. I think it was more of the texture than anything else. I really could have just eaten it with the spinach 🙂 . Next time I am going to serve it on top of rice.

Chickpea and Spinach Curry

Source: Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

1 (12 oz) can whole tomatoes in juice

3 Tbsp vegetable oil

2 tsp mustard seeds

1 large onion, cut into 1/4 inch dice

4 garlic cloves, minced

2 Tbsp fresh ginger, minced

1 Tbsp curry powder

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1/8 tsp ground cloves

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp asafoetida (optional)

3 cardamom pods

1 tsp salt

10 cups fresh spinach, well rinsed and chopped

4 cups chickpeas, cooked and drained, or 2 (15 oz) cans drained and rinsed

Prepare the tomatoes by removing them one at a time from the can, squeezing out the juice, and tearing them into bite-sized pieces. Place the prepared tomatoes in a bowl and reserve the juice in the can.

Preheat a medium-size saucepan over moderate heat; pour vegetable oil and then the mustard seeds. Let the seeds pop for about a minutes ( you may want to cover the pot so that the seeds can’t escape), then add the onion; turn up the heat to medium-high and sauté for 7-10 minutes, until the onion begins to brown. Add garlic and ginger, and sauté 2 more minutes. Add spices, salt and 1/4 cup of the reserved tomato juice; saute one minute more. Add tomatoes and head through. Add handfuls of spinach, mixing each additional until wilted. When all the spinach has completely wilted and the mixture is liquid-y, add the chickpeas. Lower the heat, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Taste, and adjust the spices if necessary. Simmer uncovered for about 10 more minutes, or until a thick, stew-like consistency is achieved.

 

3 Responses to “Vegan Adventure #3”

  1. Sara Says:

    This looks great! Nicely done…making me hungry!!

  2. DrFaulken Says:

    This was even more awesome the second day and served over basmati rice.

  3. […] Chickpea and Spinach Curry from Vegan with a Vengeance – the vegan community is always raving about this recipe and I’ve never tried it, so […]


Leave a Reply

