When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #4: Cause Green Tea Cupcakes are Slutty August 25, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:20 am
Tags: ,

As soon as I saw these cupcakes, I knew that I had to make them. My first encounter with matcha was when Starbucks had the Blackberry Green Tea Cream Frappaccino. But I stopped getting those because of the calories and started to get an iced non fat green tea latte. It was only on special days because there are days were I love matcha and days were it just reminds me of fish. I have no idea why. My friend Fro and I used to always drink them and everyone thought we were nuts. They were yummy. But I think I might have matchad myself out because now I have to crave it to want it and I don’t go to Starbucks anymore (personal preference).

Back to the cupcake. I have had a sealed container of some good matcha for about 2 years in my pantry/laundry room that needed to be used. This recipe looked like the best one to try for my vegan adventure. The cute pink flower was a great touch, but I think I made mine too small. Next time I will make bigger pink marzipan flowers, and yes the marzipan is vegan. I checked 🙂

The flavor of these cupcakes was right on. They reminded me exactly of the iced green tea latte that I used to get. It was perfect. The icing had a nice sweetness and wasn’t overly matcha-y. I have found that matcha is one of those things that you either LOVE or HATE. If you LOVE matcha you need to definitely try these cupcakes. If you don’t like it or particularly care for it, I would at least try it and then let someone who likes it finish your cupcake. They will definitely thank you 🙂 .

After I made these cupcakes I knew that I had to share them with Fro because she would completely appreciate them. She is vegetarian and she loves Green Tea Lattes. Yes I know she is not vegan, but she will be all over the cupcake because they are yummy!!! Next stop, Fro’s house to deliver a yummy Green Tea Cupcake.

Green Tea Cupcakes

Source: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

1/2 cup soy yogurt

2/3 cup rice milk

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup canola oil

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

3-4 tsp matcha tea powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup granulated sugar

Green Tea Glaze (recipe below)

Preheat oven to 350ºF and line cupcake pan with liners.

In a large bowl, whisk together the yogurt, rice milk, vanilla, oil, and almond extract, beating well to blend in yogurt. Sift in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, matcha powder, salt, and sugar.

Fill liners two thirds full and baking 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on racks before topping with glaze

Green Tea Glaze

2 tbsp margarine, softened

1 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted

1/8-1/4 tsp matcha tea powder

1-2 tbsp rice milk

1/4 tsp almond extract

drop of vanilla extract

With a fork, beat margarine until fluffy, then mix in confectioners’ sugar and matcha to form a crumbly mixture. Slowly beat in 1 tbsp rice milk, almond extract, and vanilla. If icing is too thick to spread, pour in additional rice milk a teaspoon at a time and mix till desired consistency is reached.

 

3 Responses to “Vegan Adventure #4: Cause Green Tea Cupcakes are Slutty”

  1. Sara Says:

    Mmm…these look so yummy! I’ve been eyeing this recipe, but haven’t made it yet! Nicely done! Next mission: Find matcha powder!

  2. lo Says:

    where can you find matcha tea powder? i really want to try this recipe because i love those green tea lattes too!


Leave a Reply

